It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Experience Design & Management: MBA 693R
Library resources available to support the Experience Design & Management program
ProQuest Business CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting and Tax, Asian Business and Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and J.P. Morgan Research. Featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, analyst reports, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier is a collection of popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications, including the Harvard Business Review. Business Source Premier covers accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade and technology.
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES includes full-text articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in PsychArticles are indexed in PsycINFO.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over one million journal, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in 2,000 journals from over 50 countries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. PsychInfo is provided by the American Psychological Association.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThis database provides coverage of nearly 550 full text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
IBIS WorldThis link opens in a new windowReports on over 1,000 industries: size, barriers to entry, segmentation, cost structures, etc.
For educational use only. Content may not be disclosed or resold to outside companies.
MintelThis link opens in a new windowReports on consumer markets and trends. Segmentation, branding, positioning, and psychographics. Rich insight into consumer behavior and lifestyles. Coverage is deepest for the U.S.
Frost and SullivanThis link opens in a new windowIn-depth industry and market research covering aerospace, transportation, chemicals, materials, food, electronics, energy, environment, construction, healthcare, biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, information technology, and communications.
Euromonitor International PassportThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: GMID. An integrated on-line business information system providing key business intelligence on countries, consumers, lifestyles, markets and companies. Excellent for market research, international business case studies, scenario planning and comparative analysis. Formerly known as Global Market Information Database (GMID).
For research or private study for academic purposes only. Only students, faculty, and staff may access.
eMarketerThis link opens in a new windowData about advertising, media, and consumer behavior on the internet and mobile devices.
Selected Articles about Empathy in Experience Design
Pitch to Win by David Beckett'Hi, my name is David Beckett, I'm a pitch coach, and I'm here to ensure your ideas have a voice.'The big pitch is coming up. You've got just a few minutes to convince that investor or your Board, that your idea is worth investing money, time and people in. What should you say? How should you say it? And how do you beat those nerves that are already building up inside? David Beckett has coached over 700 startups to raise over €170 million in investment. And he has trained thousands of professionals in innovation teams at companies like Google, Unilever, Booking.com and PwC. He is also a TEDx speech coach. In Pitch to Win, David provides practical tools to help you Script, Design and Deliver pitches that are short, professional and persuasive. His methods and practices have been tested with hundreds of pitchers and reviewed by numerous investors and members of the Board. The focus is on actionable tools and real-life examples. With step-by-step exercises that will guide you to your best pitch ever.
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
The Elegant Pitch by Mike Figliuolo“We're sorry but your recommendation wasn't approved.”We've all heard those words; it's a sentence that swallows your hopes and crushes your confidence.Getting ideas or projects approved and securing the resources needed to implement them is one of the greatest challenges business leaders face. With multiple stakeholders, constrained budgets, and competing agendas, it's difficult to cut through the clutter and garner the required support.The Elegant Pitch provides a simple, proven process to go from idea to approval more quickly and effectively than ever before. This is the same method used by elite strategy consulting firms such as McKinsey & Co. and Bain Consulting. But you don't have to be a high-priced consultant to master a process that promises:Clearer and more compelling recommendations and ideas.Shorter and crisper communications.Greater efficiency.Shorter and fewer meetings.More efficient decision-making processes.A higher likelihood of getting your recommendations approved.Do less work, hold fewer and shorter meetings, and get ideas approved on the first pass? Sign me up!By using the methods in The Elegant Pitch, you can get to “yes” more quickly and drive the results that set you apart from the crowd.
Publication Date: 2016-08-22
Summary of Presence by InstaRead Summaries StaffSummary of Presence by Amy Cuddy | Includes Analysis Preview: Have you ever bombed a job interview or fumbled an “elevator pitch”? Based on a number of social psychology studies, Presence is a book by Harvard Business School professor Amy Cuddy that encourages people to stop worrying about the impression they make on others and instead use simple tools like body language to change the way they feel about themselves. Presence shows how, by accessing one’s personal power, an individual can become bolder and more confident in challenging situations like job interviews, business pitches, or even relationship breakups. Achieving presence occurs when people stop focusing on what others think of them and instead focus on the changes they are making in themselves. While understanding this presence can certainly help in public speaking and presentations, someone with a presence that communicates quiet confidence might also be viewed as a better listener, which is a key attribute in any organization… PLEASE NOTE: This is summary and analysis of the book and NOT the original book. Inside this Instaread Summary of Presence: Summary of the book Important People Character Analysis Analysis of the Themes and Author’s Style About the Author With Instaread, you can get the key takeaways, summary and analysis of a book in 15 minutes. We read every chapter, identify the key takeaways and analyze them for your convenience
Publication Date: 2016-03-03
Entrepreneur Voices on Elevator Pitches by The Staff of Entrepreneur Media, Inc Jonathan SmallWhat Can You Pitch in 60 Seconds?Whether you're facing funding sharks or angel investors, we've got the keys to crafting that perfect pitch to help you secure the funds you need to launch your startup, build your business, and achieve your entrepreneurial dreams.In this new edition of the Entrepreneur Voices series, entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, and experts from both sides of the board roam present the game-winning strategies and deal-closing tactics you need to succeed. Dive in and learn how to:Build a business model and financial plan for your new ventureMake a great first impression and sell your idea in 60 secondsConnect with the investors most likely to finance your business ideaCraft a slide deck that will catch and keep venture capitalists'attentionPrepare for on-the-spot questions in the board roomSee every “No” as an opportunity to find the perfect “Yes”Plus, gain exclusive insights from stars you've seen on Shark Tank, Planet of the Apps, Entrepreneur Elevator Pitch, and more!
Publication Date: 2019
The 3-Minute Rule by Brant PinvidicWant to deliver a pitch or presentation that grabs your audience's ever-shrinking attention span? Ditch the colorful slides and catchy language. And follow one simple rule: Convey only what needs to be said, clearly and concisely, in three minutes or less. That's the 3-Minute Rule.Hollywood producer and pitch master Brant Pinvidic has sold more than three hundred TV shows and movies, run a TV network, and helmed one of the largest production companies in the world with smash hits like The Biggest Loser and Bar Rescue. In his nearly twenty years of experience, he's developed a simple, straightforward system that'shelped hundreds—from Fortune 100 CEOs to PTA presidents—use top-level Hollywood storytelling techniques to simplify their messages and say less to get more. Pinvidic proves that anyone can deliver a great pitch, for any idea, in any situation, so your audience not only remembers your message but can pass it on to their friends and colleagues. You'll see how his methods work in a wide range of situations—from presenting investment opportunities in a biotech startup to pitching sponsorship deals for major sports stadiums, and more. Now it's your turn. The 3-Minute Rule will equip you with an easy, foolproof method to boil down any idea to its essential elements and structure it for maximum impact.Simplify. Say less. Get More.
Research Interviewing by Elliot G. MishlerInterviews hold a prominent place among the various research methods in the social and behavioral sciences. This book presents a powerful critique of current views and techniques, and proposes a new approach to interviewing. At the heart of Mishler's argument is the notion that an interview is a type of discourse, a speech event: it is a joint product, shaped and organized by asking and answering questions. This view may seem self-evident, yet it does not guide most interview research. In the mainstream tradition, the discourse is suppressed. Questions and answers are regarded as analogues to stimuli and responses rather than as forms of speech; questions and the interviewer's behavior are standardized so that all respondents will receive the same stimulus; respondents' social and personal contexts of meaning are ignored. While many researchers now recognize that context must be taken into account, the question of how to do so effectively has not been resolved. This important book illustrates how to implement practical alternatives to standard interviewing methods. Drawing on current work in sociolinguistics as well as on his own extensive experience conducting interviews, Mishler shows how interviews can be analyzed and interpreted as narrative accounts. He places interviewing in a sociocultural context and examines the effects on respondents of different types of interviewing practice. The respondents themselves, he believes, should be granted a more extensive role as participants and collaborators in the research process. The book is an elegant work of synthesis--clearly and persuasively written, and supported by concrete examples of both standard interviewing and alternative methods. It will be of interest to both scholars and clinicians in all the various fields for which the interview is an essential tool.
Publication Date: 1991-04-01
Research Interviewing by Bill Gillham* The most comprehensive book available on methods in research interviewing! * What is research interviewing? * What techniques are used? Exactly what do you do in each technique? * How is interview data analysed and written up? The robust, real-world approach makes this book appropriate for practitioner researchers and postgraduate students up to PhD level. Covers distance and face-to-face interviewing, from the un-structured and naturalistic to the highly structured, focused and time-efficient. Emphasis is placed on using the most appropriate methods for the research purpose and how to identify which method is practicable. Based on over thirty years of teaching and supervising research and postgraduate students, the author anticipates questions and difficulties at a level of practical detail. Practical and easy to use, this book is essential for anyone doing research interviewing.
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Research Interviewing by Elliot G. MishlerInterviews hold a prominent place among the various research methods in the social and behavioral sciences. This book presents a powerful critique of current views and techniques, and proposes a new approach to interviewing. At the heart of Elliot Mishler's argument is the notion that an interview is a type of discourse, a speech event: it is a joint product, shaped and organized by asking and answering questions. This view may seem self-evident, yet it does not guide most interview research. In the mainstream tradition, the discourse is suppressed. Questions and answers are regarded as analogues to stimuli and responses rather than as forms of speech; questions and the interviewer's behavior are standardized so that all respondents will receive the same “stimulus”; respondents'social and personal contexts of meaning are ignored. While many researchers now recognize that context must be taken into account, the question of how to do so effectively has not been resolved. This important book illustrates how to implement practical alternatives to standard interviewing methods. Drawing on current work in sociolinguistics as well as on his own extensive experience conducting interviews, Mishler shows how interviews can be analyzed and interpreted as narrative accounts. He places interviewing in a sociocultural context and examines the effects on respondents of different types of interviewing practice. The respondents themselves, he believes, should be granted a more extensive role as participants and collaborators in the research process. The book is an elegant work of synthesis—clearly and persuasively written, and supported by concrete examples of both standard interviewing and alternative methods. It will be of interest to both scholars and clinicians in all the various fields for which the interview is an essential tool.
Publication Date: 1991-04-01
Qualitative Research Interviewing by Tom Wengraf`Wengraf provides a comprehensive theoretical and practical guide to the planning, conduct, and interpretative analysis of data by semi-structured interviewing methods. Forthright and frank in his comments about the limitations and practical implications of varying choices which investigators have to make in designing their research projects. Reading this text is like having a tough but expert and caring mentor who wants you to do the best research possible, but will not hesitate to tell you when your ideology and assumptions skew that possibility' - Vincent W Hevern, Le Moyne College, USA. Unique in its conceptual coherence and the level of practical detail, this book provides a comprehensive resource for those concerned with the practice of semi-structured interviewing, the most commonly used interview approach in social research, and in particular for in-depth, biographic narrative interviewing. It covers the full range of practices from the identification of topics through to strategies for writing up research findings in diverse ways.
Publication Date: 2001-06-25
How to Manage, Analyze, and Interpret Survey Data by Arlene G. Fink''''"A useful and readable introduction to data analysis and valuable resource for the nonspecialist."''--Cameron Lee, Fuller Theological Seminary''Clearly written with useful checklists, guidelines, and examples, How to Manage, Analyze, and Interpret Survey Data shows readers how to manage survey data and become better users and consumers of statistical and qualitative survey information. Fink explains the basic vocabulary of data management and statistics, and then demonstrates the principles and logic behind the selection and interpretation of commonly used statistical and qualitative methods to analyze survey data: from cleaning the data to measurement scales through to how to read computer output and judge significance using confidence intervals. Thoroughly reorganized and revised, the book now includes coverage of:''* How to organize and manage data for analysis ''* How to draft an analysis plan ''* How to define and format a data file''* How to create a complete code book, including how to establish the reliability of the coding''* How to calculate the odds ratio and risk ratio''* How to do the basic steps in a content analysis of qualitative data''* How to recognize and deal with missing data and outliers for recoding''* How to enter data accurately into spreadsheets, database management programs, and statistical programs''"The author provides an excellent introductory overview to selecting appropriate statistical tests--the purposes and prerequisites for
Publication Date: 2002-10-22
Research Data Management by Joyce M. Ray (Editor)It has become increasingly accepted that important digital data must be retained and shared in order to preserve and promote knowledge, advance research in and across all disciplines of scholarly endeavor, and maximize the return on investment of public funds. To meet this challenge, colleges and universities are adding data services to existing infrastructures by drawing on the expertise of information professionals who are already involved in the acquisition, management and preservation of data in their daily jobs. Data services include planning and implementing good data management practices, thereby increasing researchers' ability to compete for grant funding and ensuring that data collections with continuing value are preserved for reuse. This volume provides a framework to guide information professionals in academic libraries, presses, and data centers through the process of managing research data from the planning stages through the life of a grant project and beyond. It illustrates principles of good practice with use-case examples and illuminates promising data service models through case studies of innovative, successful projects and collaborations.
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
Principles of Data Management and Presentation by John P. HoffmannThe world is saturated with data. We are regularly presented with data in words, tables, and graphics. Students from many academic fields are now expected to be educated about data in one form or another. Yet the typical sequence of courses--introductory statistics and research methods--does not provide sufficient information about how to focus in on a research question, how to access data and work with datasets, or how to present data to various audiences. Principles of Data Management and Presentation addresses this gap. Assuming only that students have some familiarity with basic statistics and research methods, it provides a comprehensive set of principles for understanding and using data as part of a research project, including: * how to narrow a research topic to a specific research question * how to access and organize data that are useful for answering a research question * how to use software such as Stata, SPSS, and SAS to manage data * how to present data so that they convey a clear and effective message A companion website includes material to enhance the learning experience--specifically statistical software code and the datasets used in the examples, in text format as well as Stata, SPSS, and SAS formats. Visit www.ucpress.edu/go/datamanagement, Downloads tab.