Applied Multivariate Statistical Analysis by
This market leader offers a readable introduction to the statistical analysis of multivariate observations. Gives readers the knowledge necessary to make proper interpretations and select appropriate techniques for analyzing multivariate data. Starts with a formulation of the population models, delineates the corresponding sample results, and liberally illustrates everything with examples. Offers an abundance of examples and exercises based on real data. Appropriate for experimental scientists in a variety of disciplines.
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students by
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students aims to present a clear discussion of the research methods employed in various disciplines related to our daily life problems. The theoretical basis of research methods is explained clearly and succinctly. Collecting data is a key part of the book and this includes both qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection, along with the advantages and disadvantages of each method. The book also describes in clear terms how students can analyse data, interpret results and link these to the literature review and hence their own contribution. It sets out a range of fundamental ideas in research methods, such as deductivism and inductivism, and explains why methodology is not the same as method. In this second edition every chapter has been re-written to be more readable and also to include more examples. The authors have also added a real student research proposal and a multiple-choice test with answers for the readers to test their own understanding of the ideas in the book. The book has been designed to illustrate research tools in a clear and accessible manner through chapters on such topics as formulating research, research design, data analysis and writing up the research results.
Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences by
'The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Infused with multidisciplinary examples, humor, and a healthy dose of irreverence, Fallon helps emerging researchers successfully navigate the intellectual and emotional challenges of writing quantitative research reports. After reinforcing foundations in methodology, statistics, and writing in the first section of the book, emerging researchers work through a series of questions to construct their research report. The final section contains sample papers generated by undergraduates illustrating three major forms of quantitative research – primary data collection, secondary data analysis, and content analysis. Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is appropriate for research methods classes in communication, criminology or criminal justice, economics, education, political science, psychological science, social work, and sociology. Individual students and novice researchers can also read the book as a supplement to any course or research experience that requires writing up quantitative data. “Fallon brings much-needed accessibility to the daunting world of quantitative methods. Filled with contemporary references to pop culture … key concepts are creatively introduced.” – Diana Cohen, Associate Professor of Political Science, Central Connecticut State University “This book covers the ‘how to'of writing research projects in a highly engaging manner. Graduate students who are preparing to work on their master's thesis will get a lot out of this book.” – Damon Mitchell, Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Central Connecticut State University“Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is not your typical book. It is a MUST HAVE handbook for students in the social and behavioral sciences …” – Carolyn Fallahi, Professor of Psychological Science, Central Connecticut State University“Kudos to Fallon for writing a very thorough and readable foundational text for beginning researchers!” – Linda Behrendt, Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, Indiana State University Marianne Fallon, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor of Psychological Science at Central Connecticut State University and has taught undergraduate Research Methods for over 10 years. A recipient of the Connecticut State University Trustees Teaching Award, she has mentored many emerging researchers, several of whom have won local and regional research awards and have published their research.'
The AMA Handbook of Business Documents by
This book gives you the tips, tricks, and specific words you need to make your company come across on page or screen in a way that leads to its success. From business plans and sales presentations to newsletters and email marketing, The AMA Handbook of Business Documents has everything you need to be successful. You'll learn about the various types of business documents and the parts of a document that spell either big success or big trouble. This versatile guide to preparing first-class written pieces provides you with dozens of sample documents and practical tips to give you a strategic and creative advantage when crafting documents such as: proposals, memos, emails, press releases, speeches, reports, policies and procedures, warning letters, announcements, and so much more. Suited equally to executives, entrepreneurs, managers, administrative staff, and anyone else charged with putting a business's intentions into words, The AMA Handbook of Business Documents will forever transform the way you communicate your company's identity, products, services, and strengths in written communication.
Garner's Modern American Usage by
The first edition of Garner's Modern American Usage established Bryan Garner as "an American equivalent of Fowler" (Library Journal). With more than 23,500 copies sold, this witty, accessible, and engaging book has become the new classic reference work praised by professional copyeditors as well as the general public looking for clear advice on how to write more effectively. In 1999, Choice magazine named it an Outstanding Academic Book and the American Library Association dubbed it an Outstanding Reference Source. With thousands of succinct entries, longer essays on key issues and problematic areas, and up-to-the-minute judgments on everything from trendy words to the debate over personal pronouns, GMAU is approachable yet authoritative.
Since the book first appeared in 1998, Bryan Garner has diligently continued tracking how we use our language. The second edition includes hundreds of new entries ranging from Dubya to weaponize (coined in 1984 but used extensively since 9/11) to foot-and-mouth, plethora (a "highfalutin equivalent of too many"), Slang, Standard English, and Dialects. It also updates hundreds of existing entries. Meanwhile, Garner has written a major essay on the great grammar debate between descriptivists and prescriptivists. Painstakingly researched with copious citations from books and newspapers and newsmagazines, this new edition furthers Garner's mission to help everyone become a better writer, and to enjoy it in the process.
Companion to Creative Writing by
A Companion to Creative Writing comprehensively considers key aspects of the practice, profession and culture of creative writing in the contemporary world.
10 Steps to Successful Business Writing by
This new title addresses solutions to the root cause of poor productivity--bad communication. And how often is that communication in writing? Almost every business communication today is in some form of writing, so learn from the best, the 10-step way to successful business writing. From knowing where to take your reader to how to construct simple and clear sentences and organize your materials, this title makes it easy for everyone at every level of any organization.