Subject Guides: Accounting: Business Valuation

Business Valuation Resources

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
In-depth financial/valuation data resource, including information on equities, credit ratings, transactions, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, executives. Includes an Excel plug-in for data analysis
For academic, noncommercial use only.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is the premiere source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. First-time users must create a username.
Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
Must first create a login using a byu.net email address. A byu.net email alias can be created at https://my.byu.edu under Communication using the Email Alias Manager. Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle. For educational use at BYU only.
For educational use only.
BizMiner This link opens in a new window
BizMiner is a leading online provider of industry financial analysis and market research.
For non-commercial use only.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with DandB's private company database, Mergent Intellect provides access to private and public US and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Mergent Key Business Ratios (KBR) This link opens in a new window
Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
Gale Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.

RMA Annual Statement Studies

RMA eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
Risk Management Association eMentor & eStatement Studies Industry Resource Center contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Arranged by SIC code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.

How to find statements in RMA eSTUDIES

There are multiple ways to find statements:

Select one of these NAICS levels: 2-digit, 3-digit, 4-digit, or 5-digit. Then use the drop-down menu to make your choice.
For 6-digit NAICS, use the drop-down menu in the right column to make your choice.
Use the CODE OR KEYWORD SEARCH box, enter a NAICS between 2 to 6 digits (example 7225), or enter a word describing what you are researching (example: restaurant).

How to download statements

Once you have opened an item, click on FINANCIAL DISCUSSION.

You will now see the available years (default is current year) and regions (default is National).

Use the EXPORT button to download an Excel document to your computer.

*The Excel download includes a client comparison worksheet allowing you to enter and calculate your client’s financial statements, and easily compare side-by-side to the industry standards.