Publication Preparedness
The following resource can help you prepare data for publication.
-
Guidelines on PhD Research and Supervision,Professor Roberto Cipolla, University of Cambridge;
-
Reading and Understanding Academic Research in Accounting: A Guide for Students Teresa P. Gordon and Jason C. Porter, University of Idaho.The ability to read and understand academic research can be an important tool for practitioners in an increasingly complex accounting and business environment. This guide was developed to introduce students to the world of academic research. It is not intended for PhD students or others who wish to perform academic research. Instead, the guide should make published academic research more accessible and less intimidating so that future practitioners will be able to read empirical research and profitably apply the relevant findings. The guide begins by examining the importance of academic research for practitioners in accounting and next reviews the basics of the research process. With that background in place, we then give some guidelines and helpful hints for reading and evaluating academic papers. This guide has been used for several years to introduce master’s degree students to academic literature in an accounting theory class. After reading this guide and seeing a demonstration presentation by the professor, students have been able to successfully read and discuss research findings.
-
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. SRM Cases are stories of how real research projects were conducted. The collection provides more than 1100 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. SRM Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. SRM Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.
Citing Resources
-
RefWorks This link opens in a new window The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Writing Resources
-
Dictionary.com Online dictionary
-
Guide to Grammar and Writing Guide to grammar and writing (tips)
-
University of Minnesota Online Grammar Handbook 21 Chapters of Links about College Writing and Research with Videos, Literature, Arguments, and Sample Papers
-
Advanced Quantative Data Analysis
by
There are a variety of statistical techniques used to analyse quantitative data that masters students, advanced undergraduates and researchers in the social sciences are expected to be able to understand and undertake. This book explains these techniques, when it is appropriate to use them, how to carry them out and how to write up the results. Most books which describe these techniques do so at too advanced or technical a level to be readily understood by many students who need to use them. In contrast the following features characterise this book: - concise and accessible introduction to calculating and interpreting advanced statistical techniques - use of a small data set of simple numbers specifically designed to illustrate the nature and manual calculation of the most important statistics in each technique - succinct illustration of writing up the results of these analyses - minimum of mathematical, statistical and technical notation - annotated bibliography and glossary of key concepts Commonly used software is introduced, and instructions are presented for carrying out analyses and interpreting the output using the computer programs of SPSS Release 11 for Windows and a version of LISREL 8.51, which is freely available online. Designed as a textbook for postgraduate and advanced undergraduate courses across the socio-behavioural sciences, this book will also serve as a personal reference for researchers in disciplines such as sociology and psychology.
ISBN: 9780335200597Publication Date: 2003-07-01 -
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students
by
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students aims to present a clear discussion of the research methods employed in various disciplines related to our daily life problems. The theoretical basis of research methods is explained clearly and succinctly. Collecting data is a key part of the book and this includes both qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection, along with the advantages and disadvantages of each method. The book also describes in clear terms how students can analyse data, interpret results and link these to the literature review and hence their own contribution. It sets out a range of fundamental ideas in research methods, such as deductivism and inductivism, and explains why methodology is not the same as method. In this second edition every chapter has been re-written to be more readable and also to include more examples. The authors have also added a real student research proposal and a multiple-choice test with answers for the readers to test their own understanding of the ideas in the book. The book has been designed to illustrate research tools in a clear and accessible manner through chapters on such topics as formulating research, research design, data analysis and writing up the research results.
ISBN: 9788132113669Publication Date: 2014-03-15 -
Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences
by
'The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Infused with multidisciplinary examples, humor, and a healthy dose of irreverence, Fallon helps emerging researchers successfully navigate the intellectual and emotional challenges of writing quantitative research reports. After reinforcing foundations in methodology, statistics, and writing in the first section of the book, emerging researchers work through a series of questions to construct their research report. The final section contains sample papers generated by undergraduates illustrating three major forms of quantitative research – primary data collection, secondary data analysis, and content analysis. Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is appropriate for research methods classes in communication, criminology or criminal justice, economics, education, political science, psychological science, social work, and sociology. Individual students and novice researchers can also read the book as a supplement to any course or research experience that requires writing up quantitative data. “Fallon brings much-needed accessibility to the daunting world of quantitative methods. Filled with contemporary references to pop culture … key concepts are creatively introduced.” – Diana Cohen, Associate Professor of Political Science, Central Connecticut State University “This book covers the ‘how to'of writing research projects in a highly engaging manner. Graduate students who are preparing to work on their master's thesis will get a lot out of this book.” – Damon Mitchell, Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Central Connecticut State University“Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is not your typical book. It is a MUST HAVE handbook for students in the social and behavioral sciences …” – Carolyn Fallahi, Professor of Psychological Science, Central Connecticut State University“Kudos to Fallon for writing a very thorough and readable foundational text for beginning researchers!” – Linda Behrendt, Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, Indiana State University Marianne Fallon, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor of Psychological Science at Central Connecticut State University and has taught undergraduate Research Methods for over 10 years. A recipient of the Connecticut State University Trustees Teaching Award, she has mentored many emerging researchers, several of whom have won local and regional research awards and have published their research.'
ISBN: 9789463006071Publication Date: 2016-01-01 -
Garner's Modern American Usage
by
The first edition of Garner's Modern American Usage established Bryan Garner as "an American equivalent of Fowler" (Library Journal). With more than 23,500 copies sold, this witty, accessible, and engaging book has become the new classic reference work praised by professional copyeditors as well as the general public looking for clear advice on how to write more effectively. In 1999, Choice magazine named it an Outstanding Academic Book and the American Library Association dubbed it an Outstanding Reference Source. With thousands of succinct entries, longer essays on key issues and problematic areas, and up-to-the-minute judgments on everything from trendy words to the debate over personal pronouns, GMAU is approachable yet authoritative.
Since the book first appeared in 1998, Bryan Garner has diligently continued tracking how we use our language. The second edition includes hundreds of new entries ranging from Dubya to weaponize (coined in 1984 but used extensively since 9/11) to foot-and-mouth, plethora (a "highfalutin equivalent of too many"), Slang, Standard English, and Dialects. It also updates hundreds of existing entries. Meanwhile, Garner has written a major essay on the great grammar debate between descriptivists and prescriptivists. Painstakingly researched with copious citations from books and newspapers and newsmagazines, this new edition furthers Garner's mission to help everyone become a better writer, and to enjoy it in the process.
Call Number: Print & Electronic. PE 2827 .G37x 2003 Reserve CollectionISBN: 0195161912Publication Date: 2003-10-30 -
Companion to Creative Writing
by
A Companion to Creative Writing comprehensively considers key aspects of the practice, profession and culture of creative writing in the contemporary world.
ISBN: 9780470656938Publication Date: 2013-05-28
Theses
For students interested in graduate school and publishing in the future, it can be helpful to look at past theses and disserations.
-
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window PQDT Global connects scholarship from 4,100 universities in over 60 countries, diverse voices, ideas, and perspectives can be viewed within a singular global context. : Each full text dissertation and thesis in PQDT is fully searchable providing an unparalleled resource for text and data mining analysis making connections that generate new insights.
-
Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU This link opens in a new window Electronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies
Scholarly Articles
-
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business Source Ultimate is a collection of popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications, including the Harvard Business Review. Business Source Premier covers accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade and technology.
-
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
-
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts over one million journal, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in 2,000 journals from over 50 countries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. PsychInfo is provided by the American Psychological Association.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 8,500 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, citedwork, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic.
-
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES includes full-text articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in PsychArticles are indexed in PsycINFO.
-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This database provides coverage of nearly 550 full text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Find articles and citations info
The following resources allow you to search by topic but also search for sources from a specific journal or a specific author. Several of these also allow you to see who cites articles after it is published.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 8,500 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, citedwork, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic.
-
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.
Publishing Resources
The following resources can help you look up information about publishers and journals (e.g., acceptance rates).
-
Cabells Journalytics Academic This link opens in a new window Cabell's Directories provides information about journals, including contact information, publication guidelines, peer review information, circulation data, some metrics, and acceptance rates. This data is useful for students and faculty trying to publish, and for those evaluating scholarly work. Our subscription includes Cabell analytics for the following disciplines: Accounting, Economics and Finance, Educational Curriculum and Methods, Educational Psychology and Administration, Health Administration, Management, Marketing, Nursing, and Psychology.
-
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window Ulrichsweb is the online version of Ulrich's Periodical Directory. It contains a quarter-million records (journals, newsletters, newspapers, etc.) that are published world-wide. Each record provides publishing information, price, state date, where it is indexed, email links, etc. Updated daily.
-
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window 2002-present. JCR presents quantifiable statistical citation data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. Covers more than 7,000 of the world's most highly cited, peer-reviewed journals in approximately 200 disciplines. Includes Science Edition and Social Science Edition.
-
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window Unified catalog of research libraries and public libraries throughout the world. Includes books, serials, sound recordings, data files, musical scores, and visual materials. Search using Library Catalog commands. Updated daily. Interlibrary loan database. Look up book, and order it from interlibrary loan
-
Mendeley (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully-searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.
Measurement Models, Surveys,Questionaries
-
APA PsycTests (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window PsycTESTS, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsychTESTS contains over 6,000 Master Profiles and nearly 4,500 instances of actual tests or test items. Coverage dates from 1910 to the present.
Handbooks, Manuals, Etc..
-
The Foundation 1000
by
Call Number: PRINT ONLY - HV97.F65F67aIn-depth profiles of the 1000 largest U.S. Foundations (including LDS foundations) -
The Foundation Center's guide to proposal writing
by
Call Number: PRINT ONLY - HBLL Harold B. Lee Library Bookshelves/ HG 177.5 .U6 G44 1993 -
The first-time grantwriter's guide to success
by
Call Number: PRINT ONLY - HBLL Social Sciences/Education Reference/ LC 243 .A1 K56 2002 -
Finding funding : grantwriting from start to finish, including project management and Internet use
by
Call Number: PRINT ONLY - HBLL Social Sciences/Education Reference/ LB 2825 .F522 2001
Popular Journals & Magazines
-
Business WeekFrom 1996 to present
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.
-
New York Times (Late Edition East Coast)1980-Present
-
Time1985-Present
-
Wall Street Journal (Historical) This link opens in a new window A ProQuest Historical Newspaper, the Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
-
Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.
Samples Proposals
-
Non Profit Grants Non-profit guides are free Web-based grant-writing tools for non-profit organizations, charitable, educational, public organizations, and other community-minded groups.
Writing Proposals
-
Grantwriting Tools for Non-profit Organizations Non-profit guides are free Web-based grant-writing tools for non-profit organizations, charitable, educational, public organizations, and other community-minded groups.
-
The Foundation Center Proposal Writing Short Course Proposal Writing Short Course
-
University of Michigan Proposal Writer's Guide Overview to develop a proposal
-
National Science Foundation Guide for Proposal Writing A GUIDE FOR PROPOSAL WRITING
-
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Grantwriting Tutorial EPA Grant Writing Tutorial
-
Grant Proposal Guide Provided by the National Science Foundation This guide is intended for faculty and staff members with little or no experience in writing proposals for sponsored activities
-
Grant writing 101 A short article on grant writing
Locating Grants
The library has two grants that students can apply for:
As you collaborate with faculty, you may want to explore regional and national grant opportunities.
-
Catalog of Federal Domestic AssistanceA database of federal programs providing funds to individuals, private organizations, institutions and state and local governments.
-
Foundation Center Grant SpaceGrantSpace provides easy-to-use, self-service tools and resources to help nonprofits worldwide become more viable grant applicants and build strong, sustainable organizations.
-
Grants.govA database of federal programs providing funds to individuals, private organizations, institutions and state and local governments.
-
U.S. Small Business AdministrationFederal grants resources
-
Association of Fundraising Professionals, Utah Chapter (AFP Utah)Online Resources for Fund Raisers.
-
US Economic Development Administration (EDA) Funding OpportunitiesFunding Opportunities
Advances in Accounting Education
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 1 - v. 5
V. 1 and V. 2 print . Use link to request delivery. 1998:vol.1, 2000:vol.2 - 2000:vol.3, 2002:vol.4 - 2003:vol.5 -
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 6 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovationspublishes bothnon-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy. Allarticles explain how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved.Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous, and specifically discuss theinstitutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant tradeoffsor policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design andexecution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review, includingreferences from outside the accounting field, where appropriate. Volume 21 includes papers that examine thefollowing topics: a commentary and analysis of the new CPA exam, a citationanalysis of Advances in AccountingEducation for volumes 1-15, and an application of methods for reducing writingapprehension in students. The volumealso includes a special section that focuses on active learning. One article presents a series of activelearning assignments for use in introductory financial accounting classes whilethe other manuscript presents the results of a survey of accounting faculty andtheir incorporation of active learning techniques in their classes. show less
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and curriculum Innovations. v. 7 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovationspublishes bothnon-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy. Allarticles explain how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved.Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous, and specifically discuss theinstitutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant tradeoffsor policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design andexecution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review, includingreferences from outside the accounting field, where appropriate. Volume 21 includes papers that examine thefollowing topics: a commentary and analysis of the new CPA exam, a citationanalysis of Advances in AccountingEducation for volumes 1-15, and an application of methods for reducing writingapprehension in students. The volumealso includes a special section that focuses on active learning. One article presents a series of activelearning assignments for use in introductory financial accounting classes whilethe other manuscript presents the results of a survey of accounting faculty andtheir incorporation of active learning techniques in their classes. show less
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 8 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovationspublishes bothnon-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy. Allarticles explain how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved.Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous, and specifically discuss theinstitutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant tradeoffsor policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design andexecution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review, includingreferences from outside the accounting field, where appropriate. Volume 21 includes papers that examine thefollowing topics: a commentary and analysis of the new CPA exam, a citationanalysis of Advances in AccountingEducation for volumes 1-15, and an application of methods for reducing writingapprehension in students. The volumealso includes a special section that focuses on active learning. One article presents a series of activelearning assignments for use in introductory financial accounting classes whilethe other manuscript presents the results of a survey of accounting faculty andtheir incorporation of active learning techniques in their classes. show less
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 9 https://search.lib.byu.edu/byu/record/edsbyu.nlebk.196365?holding=0okerija3m45kak6 (
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and curriculum innovations. v. 10 Advances in Accounting Education is a refereed, academic research publication whose purpose is to help meet the needs of faculty members and administrators who are interested in ways to improve teaching, learning and curriculum development in the accounting area at the college and university level. We publish thoughtful, well-developed articles that are readable, relevant, and reliable. Articles may be either empirical or non-empirical and should emphasize innovative approaches that inform faculty and administrators as they seek to improve their classrooms, curricula and programs. Volume 23 consists of three themes: (1) Capacity Building and Program Leadership, (2) Classroom Innovation and Pedagogy, and (3) Engagement with Professionals Through Advisory Councils. Theme 1, Capacity Building and Program Leadership , include articles that focus on innovation in accounting doctoral programs, roles and professional development opportunities of accounting program leaders, the interaction of gender and performance shortly after junior college students transfer to a four-year college, and the diffusion of data analytics in the accounting curriculum. Theme 2, Classroom Innovation and Pedagogy , consists of a class exercise on accounting for stock option modifications and option service and performance conditions, student group work across geographical and cultural borders, and the use of publicized-data breach cases to incorporate cybersecurity into upper-level accounting courses. Theme 3, Engagement with Professionals Through Advisory Councils , explores ways in which accounting programs might leverage their advisory councils (boards) to improve their curricula and strengthen opportunities for student success. The first article in Theme 3 reports the result of a survey that explores opportunities for interaction between the accounting academy and the profession through advisory councils. This is followed by articles that discuss the use of advisory councils to (a) improve the master's in accountancy curriculum and (b) serve as a catalyst for improving the ethical reasoning skills of accounting students and accounting professionals. In total, this volume includes 10 peer reviewed articles that make significant contributions to teaching, learning, curricula and programs, and faculty development matters in accounting.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 11 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations'is a refereed, academic research annual that aims to meet the needs of faculty members interested in ways to improve their classroom instruction. It includes both non-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy at college and university level. Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous and specifically discuss the institutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant trade offs or policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design and execution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review. Thoughtful, well-developed articles describe how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved.'Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations'serves as a forum for sharing generalizable teaching approaches ranging from curricula development to content delivery techniques. Readable, relevant and reliable this volume is of interest to all instructors, researchers and administrators committed to improving accounting education at the college and university level. This volume presents relevant, readable articles dealing with accounting pedagogy at college/university level. It serves as a forum for sharing generalizable teaching approaches ranging from curricula development to content delivery techniques and is of interest to instructors, researchers and administrators committed to improving accounting education.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 12 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations is a refereed, academic research annual that aims to meet the needs of faculty members interested in ways to improve their classroom instruction. It includes both non-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy at college and university level. Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous and specifically discuss the institutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant trade offs or policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design and execution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review. Thoughtful, well-developed articles describe how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved. Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations serves as a forum for sharing generalizable teaching approaches ranging from curricula development to content delivery techniques. Readable, relevant and reliable this volume is of interest to all instructors, researchers and administrators committed to improving accounting education at the college and university level. This volume presents relevant, readable articles dealing with accounting pedagogy at college/university level. It serves as a forum for sharing generalizable teaching approaches ranging from curricula development to content delivery techniques and is of interest to instructors, researchers and administrators committed to improving accounting education
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 13 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations is a refereed, academic research annual that aims to meet the needs of faculty members interested in ways to improve their classroom instruction. It includes both non-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy at college and university level. Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous and specifically discuss the institutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant trade offs or policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design and execution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review. Thoughtful, well-developed articles describe how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved. Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations serves as a forum for sharing generalizable teaching approaches ranging from curricula development to content delivery techniques. Readable, relevant and reliable this volume is of interest to all instructors, researchers and administrators committed to improving accounting education at the college and university level. This volume presents relevant, readable articles dealing with accounting pedagogy at college/university level. It serves as a forum for sharing generalizable teaching approaches ranging from curricula development to content delivery techniques and is of interest to instructors, researchers and administrators committed to improving accounting education
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 15 .Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations investigates how teaching methods or curricula/programs in accounting can be improved. Volume 15 includes papers examining communication apprehension, self-directed learning in managerial accounting courses, and a section on integrating accounting with other business disciplines.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 16 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations investigates how teaching methods or curricula/programs in accounting can be improved. Volume 16 examines intelligent online tutoring, information literacy in the accounting curriculum and the importance of the foreign corrupt practices act for accounting education.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 17 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations publishes both non-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy. All articles explain how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved. Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous, and specifically discuss the institutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant tradeoffs or policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design and execution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review, including references from outside the accounting field, where appropriate.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 18 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations 18 publishes both non-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy. All articles explain how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved. Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous, and specifically discuss the institutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant tradeoffs or policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design and execution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review, including references from outside the accounting field, where appropriate.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 19 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations 19 publishes both non-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy. All articles explain how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved. Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous, and specifically discuss the institutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant tradeoffs or policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design and execution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review, including references from outside the accounting field, where appropriate.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 20 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations publishes both non-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy. All articles explain how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved. Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous, and specifically discuss the institutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant tradeoffs or policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design and execution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review, including references from outside the accounting field, where appropriate. Volume 21 includes papers that examine the following topics: a commentary and analysis of the new CPA exam, a citation analysis of Advances in Accounting Education for volumes 1-15, and an application of methods for reducing writing apprehension in students. The volume also includes a special section that focuses on active learning. One article presents a series of active learning assignments for use in introductory financial accounting classes while the other manuscript presents the results of a survey of accounting faculty and their incorporation of active learning techniques in their classes.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. V. 21 Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovationspublishes bothnon-empirical and empirical articles dealing with accounting pedagogy. Allarticles explain how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved.Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous, and specifically discuss theinstitutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant tradeoffsor policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design andexecution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review, includingreferences from outside the accounting field, where appropriate. Volume 21 includes papers that examine thefollowing topics: a commentary and analysis of the new CPA exam, a citationanalysis of Advances in AccountingEducation for volumes 1-15, and an application of methods for reducing writingapprehension in students. The volumealso includes a special section that focuses on active learning. One article presents a series of activelearning assignments for use in introductory financial accounting classes whilethe other manuscript presents the results of a survey of accounting faculty andtheir incorporation of active learning techniques in their classes.
-
Advances in Accounting Education : Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. V. 22 Advances in Accounting Education is a refereed, academic research publication whose purpose is to help meet the needs of faculty members interested in ways to improve accounting classroom instruction at the college and university level. We publish thoughtful, well-developed articles that are readable, relevant, and reliable. Articles may be either empirical or non-empirical, and should emphasize pedagogy, i.e., explaining how faculty members can improve their teaching methods or how accounting units can improve their curricula and programs.
-
Advances in Accounting Education : Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. V. 23 Advances in Accounting Educationis a refereed, academic research publication whose purpose is to help meet the needs of faculty members and administrators who are interested in ways to improve teaching, learning and curriculum development in the accounting area at the college and university level. We publish thoughtful, well-developed articles that are readable, relevant, and reliable. Articles may be either empirical or non-empirical and should emphasize innovative approaches that inform faculty and administrators as they seek to improve their classrooms, curricula and programs. Volume 23 consists of three themes: (1) Capacity Building and Program Leadership, (2) Classroom Innovation and Pedagogy, and (3) Engagement with Professionals Through Advisory Councils. Theme 1, Capacity Building and Program Leadership, include articles that focus on innovation in accounting doctoral programs, roles and professional development opportunities of accounting program leaders, the interaction of gender and performance shortly after junior college students transfer to a four-year college, and the diffusion of data analytics in the accounting curriculum. Theme 2, Classroom Innovation and Pedagogy, consists of a class exercise on accounting for stock option modifications and option service and performance conditions, student group work across geographical and cultural borders, and the use of publicized-data breach cases to incorporate cybersecurity into upper-level accounting courses. Theme 3, Engagement with Professionals Through Advisory Councils, explores ways in which accounting programs might leverage their advisory councils (boards) to improve their curricula and strengthen opportunities for student success. The first article in Theme 3 reports the result of a survey that explores opportunities for interaction between the accounting academy and the profession through advisory councils. This is followed by articles that discuss the use of advisory councils to (a) improve the master's in accountancy curriculum and (b) serve as a catalyst for improving the ethical reasoning skills of accounting students and accounting professionals. In total, this volume includes 10 peer reviewed articles that make significant contributions to teaching, learning, curricula and programs, and faculty development matters in accounting.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 24 Advances in Accounting Education(AAE) is a high-quality publication of both empirical and non-empirical research that investigates vital matters within teaching, learning, and curriculum development. By focusing on these topics, it works to support the improvement of accounting programs at colleges and universities, as well as foster innovative discussion and significant contributions to faculty development. This 24th volume features 11 peer-reviewed papers surrounding five key themes: (1) research on student attitudes and behavior, (2) cases and pedagogical approaches in tax, (3) financial reporting and introductory accounting, (4) research about the CPA exam, and (5) international perspectives. It considers a variety of topics within these themes, from student study choices and changes in ethical attitudes over time to policy implications for the accounting profession. It even includes an instructional case for use in intermediate accounting courses and a comprehensive pedagogical approach (with a case) for teaching a complex topic in taxation. With international and nuanced perspectives from expert voices in the field, AAE is essential reading for students and accounting educators. Some practitioners and regulators in the accounting profession may also find useful policy-related nuggets in Volume 24.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. V. 25 Advances in Accounting Educationis a high-quality publication of both empirical and non-empirical research that investigates vital matters within teaching, learning, and curriculum development. By focusing on these topics, this series works to support the improvement of accounting programs at colleges and universities, as well as fostering innovative discussion and significant contributions to faculty development. This 25th volume features 13 peer-reviewed papers surrounding four themes: curriculum and pedagogical innovations, faculty reflections on teaching accounting during the COVID-19 pandemic, research on passing professional exams in accounting, and historical underpinnings and the choice of taxation as an area of specialization. Faculty with an interest in accounting education as well as accounting program administrators should find all four themes to be highly informative and interesting. Some practitioners and regulators in the accounting profession may also find useful policy-related nuggets in Volume 25.
-
Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations. v. 26 Advances in Accounting Education is a high-quality publication of both empirical and non-empirical research that investigates vital matters related to teaching, learning, and curriculum development. By focusing on these topics, the series supports the improvement of accounting programs at colleges and universities, and fosters innovative discussion and significant contributions to faculty development. This 26thvolume features 14 peer-reviewed papers surrounding four themes: capacity building and governance; curriculum and pedagogical innovations; educational tax cases and tax literacy; information technology and the curriculum. Authors explore empirical evidence on topics such as degree type and CPA exam performance, to the link between tax literacy and business experience of college students. A review of published pedagogical tax cases offers insights into their various characteristics. Finally, Volume 26 closes with a theme that explores specific ideas for incorporating new information technology developments into the accounting curriculum. Faculty with an interest in accounting education as well as accounting program administrators should find all four themes to be highly informative and interesting. Some practitioners and regulators in the accounting profession may also find useful policy-related nuggets in Volume 26.ISBN: 9781803827292