Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accounting Publications & News
PwC's 10Minutes are at-a-glance info on what you need to know about emerging topics essential in the accounting field today that cover the key information and issues in 10 minutes or less. Great for getting a brief knowledge so you can join in with an opinion in an accounting conversation, or to try to impress recruiters.
CPA Exam Blogs
A blog about the CPA exam from the New Jersey Society of CPAs
Discussion on fraud prevention and detection by Mark and Aaron Zimbelman. BYU Accounting professors.
Guides, Background & Reference
Accountants' Handbook by This highly regarded reference is relied on by a considerable part of the accounting profession in their day-to-day work. This comprehensive resource is widely recognized and relied on as a single reference source that provides answers to all reasonable questions on accounting and financial reporting asked by accountants, auditors, bankers, lawyers, financial analysts, and other preparers and users of accounting information. The new edition reflects the new FASB Codification, and includes expanded coverage of fair value and guidance on developing fair value estimates, fraud risk and exposure, healthcare, and IFRS.
Call Number: HF 5621 .A22 1999 vol.1 & vol. 2
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
Dictionary of Accounting by Over 200 new terms have been added to this second edition, bringing the total to over 1,300 definitions. Many of the original entries have been revised, and comprehensive coverage is provided for financial accounting, management accounting, taxation, auditing, social accounting, information systems, computers, financial analysis, reporting standards, and statistical methods. Among the new terms are accelerated cost recovery system (ACRS), "carve-out" accounting, debt defeasance, deep discount bonds, flat rate tax, Governmental Accounting Standards Board, junior stock, "push down" accounting, shelf registration, single audit concept, stripped bond, tax equity and fiscal responsibility act, and windfall profits tax, to name a few.Ralph Estes is Professor of Accountancy at Wichita State University.
Publication Date: 1985-02-26
The Portable MBA by "This is a first-rate book by a first-rate group of scholars. It provides a clear distillation of some very powerful new concepts and integrates [them] into a practical general management framework that will help managers meet the challenges of the 21st century." -W. Carl Kester James R. Williston Professor of Business Management Harvard Business School. "The Portable MBA is an outstanding resource. Every prospective MBA student should read it to jump-start their course work; every practicing manager, even those with MBAs, would also profit greatly from time spent with this excellent book." -Dennis E. Logue, Steven Roth Professor of Management The Amos Tuck School, Dartmouth College. "An excellent launching pad for anybody interested in an overview of the state of business administration in the 1990s . . . an indispensable guide for the beginner and seasoned manager alike." -L. L. Marlantes, President and CEO The Rockefeller Group. "The Portable MBA will appeal to those who recognize that the tired old rules of business no longer apply in today's rapidly changing global environment. This book offers students and business professionals an up-to-date approach that integrates all the key functional areas of the business enterprise." -John D. Finnerty, PhD, Partner, Coopers & Lybrand LLP Professor of Finance, Fordham University. "[The Portable MBA] offers an interdisciplinary, succinct, and practical approach to tools, concepts, and emerging trends facing executives who compete in the global economy." -Barry D. Leskin National Head of Human Resources Ernst&Young, London. The Portable MBA, Third Edition offers you an opportunity to learn the cutting-edge business theory and practice now being taught at today's top MBA programs. Written by faculty members of the prestigious Darden School at the University of Virginia, and structured around that school's world-renowned general management program, this completely new edition reflects the most important current trends in MBA education, namely cross-functional management, leading from the middle, alliance management, and an understanding of global trade and investing. Like its predecessors, The Portable MBA, Third Edition delves into all the core material covered in the first year of a typical MBA program: marketing, economics, business ethics, technology, strategy, and human resources management to select a few. But here the authors take an integrated approach, highlighting concepts that cross functional lines and responsibility and provide an enterprise-wide perspective. In addition, numerous case studies, vignettes, and first-person accounts from managers and executives at leading companies create a richer understanding of business transformation. Finally, this updated version contains capstone material that highlights the challenges facing the twenty-first-century manager building customer value, creating new paradigms for managing in periods of turbulence, and managing technology. In the grand tradition of the internationally bestselling Portable MBA Series, The Portable MBA, Third Edition brings the insight and wisdom of some of the world's top business educators to the comfort of your favorite reading chair.
The Development of Accounting in an International Context by This volume brings together contributions from the world's most renowned scholars in accounting and celebrates the academic achievements of Bob Parker. Reflecting his multi-faceated contribution to the history of accountancy, the volume studies the development of accounting in an international context.
Publication Date: 1997-08-20
Setting Standards for Financial Reporting by The book begins with an overview of how and why the present self-regulatory arrangement for setting standards for financial reporting in the private sector came about in 1973. A brief description of the new structure is followed by a discussion of the essential elements of meaningful self-regulation. A schism emerged between advocates of neutrality and objectivity in standard setting and those who think the primary concern should be for possible economic and social consequences. Early clashes between traditional views and newer insights are described, setting the stage for an account of serious resistance to change. Powerful interests mount determined efforts to thwart the standard setters, undercutting not only self-regulation, but also the intent of the federal securities acts of 1933 and 1934. The practical and philosophical bases for the opposing views are examined, and recommendations are presented for ensuring continuation of private-sector standard setting despite the intensity of these views.
Publication Date: 1994-07-30
Critical Financial Accounting Problems by From the complexity of today's business world and its daily transactions has come a proliferation of new accounting standards. The Financial Accounting Standards Board has weighed in with its own pronouncements on the issues, but are they truly comprehensible and applicable? Riahi-Belkaoui explores these questions clearly, with numerous illustrations of the accounting techniques embedded in them, and offers interpretations designed to help accounting professionals deal with these problems in their work. Scholars, researchers, and students in the academic community will also find his analyses helpful and compelling.
Publication Date: 1998-02-28
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting and Finance by
Call Number: HF 1001 .S525
Transnational Accounting by This completely revised and expanded new edition of an acclaimed resource reflects the enormous changes that have taken place in recent years in international accounting systems. Transnational Accounting, Second Edition, is the definitive guide to accounting standards in 21 countries and entities throughout the world. Written by a team of leading experts, this authoritative reference source offers easy access to the latest procedures and regulations throughout the world, as well as guidelines for their application in a range of business settings.
Call Number: HF 5626 .T72x glossary, V.1-V.3 Floor 1–C, Harold B. Lee Library Bookshelves
Business & Accounting Blogs
The Conglomerate Blog
Business, Law, Economics & Society
The Accounting Onion
Peeling away financial reporting issues one layer at a time.
Primarily a weblog about accounting and related topics (such as taxation and personal finance). Other topics, such as politics and sports, likely will come up from time to time.
Internal Auditing Blogs
List of Blogs and Internal Audit Related Information
International Tax by Cherry Bekaert
Education, Financial Services, Government Contractors, Manufacturing & Distribution, Nonprofits, Real Estate & Construction and Technology & Life Sciences
PwC IFRS Blog
International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) from PricewaterhouseCooper
Grant Thornton International
Information about international markets: Entering new markets, or understanding tax liabilities across multiple jurisdictions.
A Member of the Law Professor Blogs Network
Tax Policy Blog
Official weblog of the Tax Foundation. Covers topics related to tax policy at the federal, state and local levels.
The latest tax news & developments from Thomson Reuters – Stay informed
A Taxing Matter Blog
Tax and economic issues including current cases and administrative guidance.
Don’t Mess with Taxes
"Taxes. Sure you hate ‘em, but you’re stuck with ‘em. Either that, or you’re stuck in a federal jail cell". Tax journalist Kay Bell helps make your tax tasks less, well, taxing.
Advances in Accounting Education