Skip to main content

Epigraphy: Background

Epigraphy

Epigraphy is the study of texts (inscriptions) written on hard surfaces, primarily stone, but also including other surfaces such as metals, clay pottery, vases, mosaics, etc.

This Guide primarily covers Latin and Greek inscriptions, but the field of epigraphy covers inscriptions in all languages.

Because of their nature inscriptions tend to remain on site, but BYU's L. Tom Perry Special Collections does own several inscriptions, including a Roman military diploma from 109 AD, a gold lamella with a Greek inscription created between the 1st and 3rd centuries BC, and a number of clay cuneiform tablets. Additionally the library collects publications of inscriptions.

Bibliographies

Guide de l'Épigraphiste: bibliographie choisie des épigraphies antiques et médiévales, ed, François Bérard and others. 4th edition. Paris 2010.

Ancient Studies CN 120 .X1 G85 2010

Standard list including editions and secondary materials. Updated annually here.

 Hondius, J. J. E. Saxa loquuntur : a bibliography of epigraphic publications on Greek inscriptions. Leiden, 1938 (Guide 29)

Lee Stacks CN 350 .X1 H6 1938a

Oxford Bibliographies - Classics

Growing set of bibliographies by classical scholars on topics ranging from individual authors such as Aeschylus and Ovid to historical figures such as Alexander the Great to broad topics such as papyrology or epigraphy. Each bibliography includes a brief introductory essay (including biographies or historical overviews) and citations to the most important books and articles on the topic. For bibliographies on epigraphy, search in the list under Epigraphy, Latin or Epigraphy, Greek.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Digital Library is a collection approaching 17 million volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents, including around 7 million available as full-text online.

BYU has joined more than 100 international academic and research libraries as a partner in HathiTrust. For more details about the kinds of content in HathiTrust and to visualize by call numbers, languages, or dates, see Statistics and Visualizations.

What can I do in HathiTrust?

Anyone can search and view the full-text content in HathiTrust. With login, users at BYU benefit from added features. Below is a brief summary of what you can do.
You can log in from the HathiTrust main page.

   without login   with BYU login 
Search full-text of all volumes
View full-text of non-copyright volumes
Download single page of non-copyright volumes (PDF image)
Download full volume of non-copyright volumes (PDF image) X
Search within collections
Create and save your own collections X
Chart courtesy of Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Articles

Epigraphical publications are indexed in the same indexes applicable to general Classical Studies. For information about searching these indexes, see the Classical Studies Library Guide. Most of the journals listed below are indexed in L'Année Philologique.

The Library currently subscribes to a number of journals dealing with epigraphy, all of which are indexed. Click on to access the BYU Catalog description of the journal.

Aegyptus

Periodicals Room PA 3339 .A4

Copy in JSTOR (except most recent five years) (authentication required)

Anatolian Studies

Lee Stacks DS 56 .A66

Copy of recent issues in Cambridge Journals (authentication required--click through from catalog record)

Copy in JSTOR (except most recent three years) (authentication required)

L'année épigraphique

Lee Stacks CN 520 .A55x

Copy in JSTOR (except most recent seven years) (authentication required)

Bulletin de l'Institut Français d'Archéologie Orientale du Caire (BIFAO)

Ancient Studies DT 57 .F81

Index

Chronique d'Égypte, Bulletin périodique de la Fondation Égyptologique Reine Élisabeth

Periodicals Room DT 57 .C4

Table of Contents of recent issues

Enchoria : Zeitschrift für Demotistik und Koptologie

Lee Stacks PA 3339 .E52x

Epigraphica Anatolica : Zeitschrift für Epigraphik und historische Geographie Anatoliens

The Library does not subscribe, but an index and PDFs of recent volumes will be found here.

Epigraphica

Ancient Studies CN 1 .E6

The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology

Lee Stacks DT 57 .E362

Copy in JSTOR (except most recent five years) (authentication required)

The Journal of Hellenic Studies

Periodicals Room DF 10 .J8

Copy of recent issues in Cambridge Journals (authentication required--click through from catalog record)

Copy in JSTOR (except most recent three years) (authentication required)

The Journal of Roman Studies

Periodicals Room DG 11 .J7

Copy of recent issues in Cambridge Journals (authentication required--click through from catalog record)

Copy in JSTOR (except most recent five years) (authentication required)

Kadmos : Zeitschrift für vor- und frühgrieschische Epigraphik

Periodicals Room CN 1 .K3

Last 15 years available at publisher website (authentication required--click through from catalog record)

Minima epigraphica et papyrologica

Ancient Studies CN 350 .M56

Nestor

Periodicals Room P 1035 .A1 N4

New Documents Illustrating Early Christianity

Lee Stacks BR 134 .N4x

Orientalia

Periodicals Room PJ 6 .O7

Revue d'Égyptologie

Lee Stacks PJ 1003 .R35

Tyche : Beiträge zur alten Geschichte, Papyrologie und Epigraphik

Ancient Studies D 51 .T93

Zeitschrift für ägyptische Sprache und Altertumskunde

Periodicals Room PJ 1004 .Z4

Zeitschrift für Papyrologie und Epigraphik (ZPE)

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .Z45

Index

Copy in JSTOR (except most recent three years) (authentication required)