Subject Guides: Epigraphy: Websites

Databases of Inscriptions

General Databases

The Ashmolean Latin Inscriptions Project

Associations in the Greco-Roman World : a companion to the sourcebook

Growing online database of inscriptions and papyri about associations, guilds, immigrant groups, and initiates engaged in mysteries.

Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum Database

At CIL Website, which includes PDF copies of some CIL volumes

Databases in the Electronic Archive of Greek and Latin Epigraphy, part of the EAGLE (Europeana network of ancient Greek and Latin epigraphy) project, which intends to collect all published Greek and Latin inscriptions up to the 7th century A.D.

Epigraphic database falsae (EDF)

Systematic survey of epigraphic forgeries produced across Italy from the Middle Ages to present.

Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg

Texts of Latin and bilingual (i.e. Latin-Greek) inscriptions of the Roman Empire. One of the EAGLE databases.

Epigraphische Datenbank Clauss-Slaby

Claims to include almost all Latin inscriptions.

LIBER (Linear B Electronic Resources)

Packard Humanities Institute Searchable Greek Inscriptions

Aims to include all Greek epigraphical texts.

PETRAE (Programme d'Enregistrement, Traitement et Reconnaissance Automatique en Épigraphie)

Römische Inschriften Datenbank 24

Roman inscriptions from Germany.

U.S. Epigraphy Project

Greek and Latin inscriptions preserved in the United States.

Geographically Oriented Databases

Aphrodisias

Inscriptions of Aphrodisias

Asia Minor

Epigraphic Database for Ancient Asia Minor (= Epigraphische Datenbank zum antiken Kleinasien) Aims to include all Greek and Latin inscriptions of several different regions from ancient Asia Minor.

Phrygia and Lykaonia. Monumenta Asiae Minoris Antiqua XI

British Institute at Ankara Epigraphical Squeeze Collection

Attica

Attic Inscriptions Online (AIO)

Britain

Roman inscriptions of Britain

Bulgaria

ΤΕΛΑΜΩΝ: Ancient Greek inscriptions from Bulgaria

Campā

Corpus of the Inscriptions of Campā

Cyrenaica

Inscriptions of Roman Cyrenaica

Inscriptions of Greek Cyrenaica ; Greek verse inscriptions of Cyrenaica

Egypt

Corpus of Ptolemaic Inscriptions (CPI)

Eleusis

Mysteries at Eleusis: Images of Inscriptions (Cornell)

France

Corpus des inscriptions de la France médiévale

Italy

Theaurus inscriptionum Raeticarum (Northern Italy)

Mauretania

EpiCherchel (Cherchell, Algeria)

Portugal and Spain

Hispania Epigraphia. Inscriptions of Portugal and Spain, mainly Latin but also including some Greek, Semitic and Iberian inscriptions. One of the EAGLE databases.

Tripolitania

The Inscriptions of Roman Tripolitania

Rome

Epigraphic Database Bari. Inscriptions by Christians in Rome, 3rd-8th centuries C.E. One of the EAGLE databases.

Epigraphic Database Roma. Aims to include all inscriptions of Rome and of the Italian peninsula including Sardinia and Sicily, with the exception of Christian inscriptions. One of the EAGLE databases. (Guide 514)

Spain

Carmina latina epigraphica Hispaniae

Vindolana

Vindolana Tablets Online

EpiDoc: Epigraphic Documents in TEI XML

Provides guidelines and tools for encoding scholarly and educational editions of ancient documents, especially for the publication of digital editions of ancient inscriptions, but now also including papyri. The addresses the transcription and editorial treatment of texts as well as the history and materiality of the objects on which the texts appear (i.e., manuscripts, monuments, tablets, papyri, and other text-bearing objects). See also the Wikipedia article about EpiDoc.

Cuneiform epigraphy

Bilinguals in Late Mesopotamian Scholarship

Bilingual Sumero-Akkadian texts of the first millennium BC.

Corpus of Kassite Sumerian Texts

Texts written in Sumerian from Kassite Babylonia (c. 1570 - 1155 BC).

Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative (CDLI)

Database of cuneiform texts with images of tablets and English translations.

Database of Neo-Sumerian Texts

Tablets from public and private collections from various countries of the world are given in transliteration with bibliographical references, hand-written copies of the tablet, and picture.

Datenbank sumerischer Streitliteratur

Editions of Sumerian disputation texts with translations in English, French or German.

Digital corpus of Cuneiform Lexical Texts

Editions of cuneiform lexical texts from all periods of Mesopotamian history.

Electronic Babylonian Library (eBL) Project

Reconstruction and analysis of the literature of Iraq in the first millennium BCE. Includes a comprehensive corpus as well as a sequence alignment algorithm (“cuneiBLAST”) to query the corpus.

Electronic Text Corpus of Sumerian Literature

Electronic Text Corpus of Sumerian Royal Inscriptions

Pennsylvania Sumerian Dictionary

Sources of Early Akkadian Literature

Corpus of Babylonian and Assyrian literary texts from the 3rd and 2nd millennia BCE