Skip to main content

Papyrology: Websites

Resources for research in papyrology in the Lee Library and elsewhere

Websites dealing with Papyrology

American Society of Papyrologists

APIS (Advanced Papyrological Information System)

A collections-based repository hosting information about and images of papyrological materials (e.g. papyri, ostraca, wood tablets, etc) located in collections around the world.

Arabic Papyrology Database

Association Internationale de Papyrologues = International Association of Papyrologists

Bulletin of Online Emendations to Papyri (Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg)

The Collaborative Database of Dateable Greek Bookhands (CDDGB)

Catalog of objectively dated Greek manuscripts written in a literary script between 0-899 CE. In time, manuscripts from earlier centuries will be included as well.

Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri (via Perseus)

Non-literary papyri, Greek and Latin, from the Ptolemaic and Roman periods.

Duke Papyrus Archive

Texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt.

The International Society for Arabic Papyrology

Checklist of Arabic Documents produced by International Society for Arabic Papyrology.

PapPal

PapPal facilitates the study of ancient writing by collecting images of dated papyri. Its aim is to illustrate the development and diversity of ancient scripts, and to assist in dating undated texts.

Papyri.info

Site dedicated to the study of ancient papyrological documents. Includes ability to search multiple databases at once.

Trismegistos

An interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources dealing with Egypt and the Nile valley between roughly 800 BC and AD 800. Includes sections on texts, collections, archives, people, places, and bibliography. Includes the Leuven Database of Ancient Books Online.

What's New in Papyrology

Papyrology blog.

Websites of Papyrological Collections and Centers

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Digital Library is a collection approaching 17 million volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents, including around 7 million available as full-text online.

BYU has joined more than 100 international academic and research libraries as a partner in HathiTrust. For more details about the kinds of content in HathiTrust and to visualize by call numbers, languages, or dates, see Statistics and Visualizations.

What can I do in HathiTrust?

Anyone can search and view the full-text content in HathiTrust. With login, users at BYU benefit from added features. Below is a brief summary of what you can do.
You can log in from the HathiTrust main page.

   without login   with BYU login 
Search full-text of all volumes
View full-text of non-copyright volumes
Download single page of non-copyright volumes (PDF image)
Download full volume of non-copyright volumes (PDF image) X
Search within collections
Create and save your own collections X
Chart courtesy of Syracuse University Libraries

Your Librarian

Robert L. Maxwell's picture
Robert L. Maxwell
Contact:
6728 Harold B. Lee Library

Brigham Young University

Provo, Utah 84602

(801)422-5568

robert_maxwell@byu.edu