Skip to main content

Papyrology: P.Bacch.-P.Bürgsch.

Resources for research in papyrology in the Lee Library and elsewhere

Papyrus Publications in the BYU Collection (Checklist P.Bacch.-P.Bürgsch.)

Abbreviations are keyed to the standard Papyrological abbreviations in Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca, and Tablets (with post-2012 updates here) and the Checklist of Arabic Documents.

Click on to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.


P.Bacch.

"The Archives of the Temple of Soknobraisis at Bacchias," ed. E.H. Gilliam, in Yale classical studies 10 (1947) 179-281.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3303 .B33 1947

P.Bad. (Veröffentlichungen aus den badischen Papyrus-Sammlungen). Heidelberg. Series continues with P.Heid.

P.Bad. I, Demotische Papyri, ed. W. Spiegelberg. 1923.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .H38 Heft 1

P.Bad. II, Griechische Papyri, ed. F. Bilabel. 1923.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .H38 Heft 2

P.Bad. III, Ein koptisches Fragment über die Begründer des Manichäismus, ed. F. Bilabel. 1924.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .H38 Heft 3

P.Bad. IV, Griechische Papyri, ed. F. Bilabel. 1924.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .H38 Heft 4

P.Bad. V, Griechische, koptische und arabische Texte zur Religion und religiösen Literatur in Aegyptens Spätzeit, ed. F. Bilabel and A. Grohmann. 1934.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .H38 Heft 5

P.Bad. VI, Griechische Papyri, ed. G.A. Gerhard. 1938.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .H38 Heft 6

P.Bagnall

Papyrological Texts in Honor of Roger S. Bagnall, ed. R. Ast, H. Cuvigny, T. M. Hickey, and J. Lougovaya. Durham, NC 2013. (Am.Stud.Pap. 53). Nos. 1–70

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .P37 2013

P.Bal.

Bala'izah: Coptic Texts from Deir el-Bala'izah in Upper Egypt, ed. P.E. Kahle. London 1954. 2 vols.

Ancient Studies PJ 2195 .K3 1954

P.Bas.

Papyrusurkunden der Öffentlichen Bibliothek der Universität zu Basel. Berlin, 1917 (1970 reprint)

Ancient Studies PA 3308 .B33 1970

 Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .B33 1917

P.Batav.

Textes grecs, démotiques et bilingues, ed. E. Boswinkel and P.W. Pestman. Leiden 1978. (Pap.Lugd.Bat. XIX).

Ancient Studies PA 3301 .P34 vol.19

P.BawitClackson

It is our father who writes: orders from the Monastery of Apollo at Bawit, by S.J. Clackson. 2008. (Am. Stud. Pap. 43)

Lee Stacks BX 138 .B39 C53 2008

Click here for digital copy

P.Beatty

Chester Beatty Biblical Papyri. 8 vol. in 15 parts. London, 1933-1941.

Ancient Studies BS 64 .B5 1933

 Ancient Studies Microfiche BS 64 .B5 1933

Chester Beatty Biblical Papyri IV and V : a new edition, ed. A. Pietersma. Toronto, 1977

Ancient Studies Quarto BS 1234 .G2 1977

P.Benaki

Greek Papyri in the Benaki Museum, from the Collections of the Historical Archive, ed. E. Papapolychroniou. Athens 2000.

Ancient Studies PA 3312 .M68 2000

P.Berl.Bibl.

Frammenti di papiri greci asservati nella Reale Biblioteca di Berlino, ed. G. Parthey. Rome 1865. (Memorie dell'Instituto di Corrispondenza Archeologica 2 [1865] 438—462).

Copy in Hathi Trust

P.Berl.Brash.

Select Papyri from West-Berlin, ed. W.M. Brashear. Diss. Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor 1973.

Ancient Studies PA 3308 .B73 1973

P.Berl.Cohen

Greek Documentary Papyri from Egypt in the Berlin Aegyptisches Museum. Oakville, Conn., 2007 (Am.Stud.Pap. XLIV)

Ancient Studies DT 137 .A77 C64 2007

Click here for digital copy

P.Berl.Dem. (Demotische Papyri aus den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin)

P.Berl.Dem. I. Papyri von der Insel Elephantine, ed. K.-Th. Zauzich. Berlin 1978.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1845 .E6 Z3

P.Berl.Dem. II. Thebanische Kaufverträge des 3. und 2. Jarhhunderts v.u.Z., ed. S. Grunert. Berlin 1981. (Demotische Papyri aus den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin)

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1845 .T4 T48 1981

P.Berl.Frisk

Bankakten aus dem Faijûm nebst anderen Berliner Papyri, ed. H. Frisk. Gothenburg 1931. (Göteborgs kungl. Vetenskaps- och Vitterhets-Samhälles Handlingar, Femte Följden, Ser. A,2,2).

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .B65 1931

P.Berl.Leihg. = Berliner Leihgabe griechischer Papyri

P.Berl.Leihg. I, ed. T. Kalén. Uppsala, 1932.

Ancient Studies PA 3308 .K35 1932 vol.1

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .K35x 1932

P.Berl.Leihg. II, aus dem Nachlass T. Kaléns ed. A. Tomsin. Uppsala 1977. (Studia Graeca Upsaliensia XII).

Ancient Studies  PA 3308 .K35 1932 vol.1

P.Berl.Möller

Griechische Papyri aus dem Berliner Museum, ed. S. Möller. Gothenburg 1929.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .M65 1929

P.Berl.Park.

Four 12th Dynasty literary papyri (Pap. Berlin P. 3022-5), ed. R. Parkinson. Berlin, 2012

Ancient Studies PJ 1681 .B4 F697 2012

P.Berl.Salmen.

Cartonnage Papyri in Context: New Ptolemaic Documents from Abu Sir al Malaq, ed. E. Salmenkivi. Helsinki 2002. (Commentationes Humanarum Litterarum 119)

Ancient Studies PA 3315 .A38 S3 2002

P.Perl.Sarish

Berliner griechische Papyri, Christliche literarische Texte und Urkunden aus dem 3. bis 8. Jh.n.Chr., ed. P. Sarischouli. Wiesbaden 1995. (Serta Graeca 3)

Ancient Studies PA 3308 .S27 1995

P.Berl.Thun.

Sitologen-Papyri aus dem Berliner Museum, ed. K. Thunell. Uppsala 1924.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .B43 1924

P.Berl.Zill.

Vierzehn Berliner griechische Papyri, ed. H. Zilliacus. Helsingfors, 1941.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .Z56x 1941

pt. 2

P.Bingen

Papyri in Honorem Johannis Bingen Octogenarii, ed. H. Melaerts. Leuven 2000. (Studia Varia Bruxellensia ad Orbem Graeco-Latinum Pertinentia 5)

Ancient Studies PA 3341 .P38 2000

P.Bodl.

P.Bodl. I = Papyri Bodleianae I, ed. R.P. Salomons. Amsterdam 1996. (Stud.Amst. XXXIV)

Ancient Studies PA 3304 .S25 1996

P.Bodm.

Papyrus Bodmer. 1954-<1999>

Ancient Studies PA 3318 .C63

Library has: vol. 1-26, 29-38. Vol. 27-28 and 39- of the Bodmer Papyri have been published in Museum Helveticum, which the Library subscribes to: Periodicals PA 3 .M73

Online images for many of the papyri are available at the Fondation Martin Bodmer website.

P.Bour.

Les Papyrus Bouriant. Paris, 1926.

Ancient Studies PA 3301.B68 C642x 1926

 Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3301.B68 C64x

P.Brem.

Die Bremer Papyri. Berlin, 1936.

Ancient Studies PA 3308 .W561x 1936

 Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .W561x 1936

P.Brit.Mus.

Catalogue of the Demotic Papyri in the British Museum. London, 1939-

P.Brit.Mus. I, A Theban Archive of the Reign of Ptolemy I Soter, ed. S.R.K. Glanville. London 1939.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .B7 1939 vol.1/2

P.Brit.Mus. II, The Instructions of Onchsheshonqy, Part 1, Introduction, transliteration, translation, notes and plates, ed. S.R.K. Glanville. London 1955. Part 2 has never been published.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .B7 1939 vol.1/2

P.Brit.Mus. III, The Mortuary Texts of Papyrus BM 10507, ed. M. Smith. London 1987

Ancient Studies  Quarto PJ 1811 .B7 1939 vol.3

P.Brit.Mus. IV, Ptolemaic Legal Texts from the Theban Area, ed. C.A.R. Andrews. London 1990.

Ancient Studies  Quarto PJ 1811 .B7 1939 vol.4

P.Brit.Mus.Reich

Papyri juristischen Inhalts in hieratischer und demotischer Schrift aus dem British Museum, ed. N. Reich. Vienna 1914. (DenkschriftWien 55, Abh. 3)

Copy in LLMC Digital Library

P.Brookl.

Greek and Latin Papyri, Ostraca, and Wooden Tablets in the Collection of the Brooklyn Museum, ed. J.C. Shelton. Florence 1992. (Pap.Flor. XXII)

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .B87 1992

P.Brookl.Dem.

Catalog of Demotic Texts in the Brooklyn Museum. Chicago, 2005.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .H84 2005

P.Brookl.Pierce

Three Demotic Papyri in the Brooklyn Museum. Oslo, 1972.

Ancient Studies DT 59 .B77 P54x 1972

P.Brux. = Papyri Bruxellenses Graecae

P.Brux. I = Papyrus du nome Prosopite, ed. G. Nachtergael. Brussels 1974.

Ancient Studies PA 3306 .B7 1974 vol.1

P.Brux. II, Le poème élégiaque hellénistique P.Brux.inv. E 8934 et P.Sorb.inv. 2254. Édition, commentaire et analyse stylistique, ed. M. Huys. Brussels 1991.

Ancient Studies PA 3306 .B7 1974 vol.2

P.Brux.Bawit

Papyrus coptes et grecs du monastère d'apa Apollô de Baouît conservés aux Musées royaux d'Art et d'Histoire de Bruxelles, ed. A. Delattre. Brussels 2007 (Académie royale de Belgique. Mémoires de la Classe des Lettres. Collection in-8°. 3e série. Tome XLIII, No. 2045)

Ancient Studies PA 3306 .B73 2007

P.Brux.Dem.

Die demotischen Papyrus der Musées Royaux du Cinquantenaire, ed. W. Spiegelberg. Brussels 1909

Copy in HathiTrust

P.Bub.

Die verkohlten Papyri aus Bubastos (Pap.Colon. XV). Opladen, 1990-<2016> (ongoing)

Ancient Studies PJ 1014 .P3 vol.15 (pt. 1-3)

P.Bürgsch.

Demotische Urkunden zum ägyptischen Bürgschaftsrechte vorzüglich der Ptolemäerzeit. Leipzig, 1920.

Ancient Studies KRB .C66 S48 1920

Copy in Internet Archive or Sächsische Landesbibliothek, Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden.

P.BYU

P.BYU I, Didymus the Blind’s Commentary on Psalms 26:10–29:2, ed. L. Blumell. Turnhout, 2019.

On order for Ancient Studies 12 September 2019