Skip to main content

Papyrology: Background

Resources for research in papyrology in the Lee Library and elsewhere

Papyri at BYU

BYU has a few original papyri in the L. Tom Perry Special Collections. The most important of these is a substantial fragment of Didymus the Blind's Commentary on the Psalms, a 5th or 6th century Greek papyrus written in Egypt. The BYU portions of the Didymus papyrus have been digitized and may be accessed by clicking here.

We also have two papyrus collections called P.BYU and P.Deaton.

All of these can be accessed in the Library catalog by doing a genre/form search on the term Manuscripts, Greek (Papyri) or Coptic manuscripts (Papyri).

Additionally the Library collects facsimiles of manuscripts on papyrus. These can be found by doing a genre/form search in the catalog on one of the following terms:

Coptic manuscripts (Papyri)--Facsimiles.

Manuscripts (Papyri)--Facsimiles.

Manuscripts, Greek (Papyri)--Facsimiles.

Manuscripts, Latin (Papyri)--Facsimiles.

BYU's Ancient Textual Imaging Group is heavily involved in the restoration of texts from damaged ancient documents such as those from the Herculaneum site. For information, see the Herculaneum Project page of this guide.

Donors

The Library is grateful to the Fritz B. Burns Foundation and to Dennis and Margo Heiner for providing a substantial gift in 2010 permitting us to purchase many of the papyrological publications in the collection. This purchase helped the Library and the University prepare for the American Society of Papyrologists Summer Institute, held at BYU in 2011.

Bibliographies

Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets

Standard list including editions and secondary materials.

Oxford Bibliographies - Classics

Growing set of bibliographies by classical scholars on topics ranging from individual authors such as Aeschylus and Ovid to historical figures such as Alexander the Great to broad topics such as papyrology or epigraphy. Each bibliography includes a brief introductory essay (including biographies or historical overviews) and citations to the most important books and articles on the topic. For the bibliography on papyrology, search in the list under Papyrology: Literary and Documentary.

Gagos, Traianos. A Select Bibliography of Papyrology.

By the Classics Librarian at the University of Michigan Library. [Offline as of October 13, 2015, but a request has been made to the UM Library to restore the page]

Van Minnen, Peter. Papyrological Bibliography.

Hosted by McMicken College Department of Classics.

Finding Articles

Papyrological publications are indexed in the same indexes applicable to general Classical Studies. For information about searching these indexes, see the Classical Studies Library Guide. Most of the journals listed below are indexed in L'Année Philologique.

The Library currently subscribes to a number of journals dealing with papyrology, all of which are indexed. Click on to access the BYU Catalog description of the journal.

Aegyptus

Periodicals Room PA 3339 .A4

Copy in JSTOR (except most recent five years) (authentication required)

Analecta Papyrologica

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .A55

Archiv für Papyrusforschung und verwandte Gebiete

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .A6

Index to Bd. 1-50 (1901-2004) bound at end of Bd.50 (2004)

Bulletin de l'Institut Français d'Archéologie Orientale du Caire (BIFAO)

Ancient Studies DT 57 .F81

Index

Bulletin of the Center of Papyrological Studies

Ancient Studies Z 110 .P36 M35

Bulletin of the Ain-shams Center of Papyrological Studies and Inscriptions (ACPSI)

Ancient Studies Z 110 .P36 M35

The Bulletin of the American Society of Papyrologists

Periodicals Room AS 36 .A497 A2

Index

Online access provided by University of Michigan.

Chronique d'Égypte, Bulletin périodique de la Fondation Égyptologique Reine Élisabeth

Periodicals Room DT 57 .C4

Table of Contents of recent issues

Cronache Ercolanesi

Ancient Studies PA 3317 .C947

Enchoria, Zeitschrift für Demotistik und Koptologie

Lee Stacks PA 3339 .E52x

The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology

Lee Stacks DT 57 .E362

Copy in JSTOR (except most recent five years) (authentication required)

The Journal of Juristic Papyrology

Ancient Studies K 10 .O8718

Table of contents and full text of back issues provided by Polish History Museum in Warsaw

Minima Epigraphica et Papyrologica

Ancient Studies CN 350 .M56

New Documents Illustrating Early Christianity

Lee Stacks BR 134 .N4x

Orientalia

Periodicals Room PJ 6 .O7

Papyrologica Lupiensia

Online access available from n. 17 (2008)

Revue d'Égyptologie

Lee Stacks PJ 1003 .R35

Tyche : Beiträge zur alten Geschichte, Papyrologie und Epigraphik

Ancient Studies D 51 .T93

Online access available from vol. 26 (2011)

Zeitschrift für ägyptische Sprache und Altertumskunde

Periodicals Room PJ 1004 .Z4

Zeitschrift für Papyrologie und Epigraphik (ZPE)

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .Z45

Index

Copy in JSTOR (except most recent three years) (authentication required)

Additionally, the Library has the following journals which have either ceased publication or to which the Library does not currently subscribe.

Bulletin de la Société d'Archéologie Copte

Lee Stacks DT 57 .S6 (1958-1991)

Comunicazioni dell'Istituto papirologico "G. Vitelli". Vol. 1 (1995)-11 (2013). (Ceased with volume 11; continued by the series Edizioni dell'Istituto Papirologico "G. Vitelli")

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .C65

Études de papyrologie

Lee Stacks PA 3339 .S6 (1932-1971 [nearly complete: the journal ended in 1974])

Kêmi, Revue de philologie et d'archéologie égyptiennes et coptes

Periodicals Room DT 72 .C7 K45x

Mitteilungen des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts. Abteilung Kairo. (v. 1-10, 1930-1941)

Periodicals Room DT 57 .D48

Mizraim : Journal of papyrology, Egyptology, history of ancient laws, and their relations to the civilizations of Bible lands

Periodicals Room DT 57 .M58x (1937-1939 [complete])

Papiri filosofici : miscellanea di studi

Ancient Studies B 175 .I7 P36 1997

Recherches de papyrologie

Lee Stacks PA 3339 .R43 (1961-1967 [complete])

Recueil de travaux relatifs à la philologie et à l'archéologie égyptiennes et assyriennes

Periodicals Room DT 57 .R33x (1870-1920 [Library lacks a few issues])

Revue de l'Égypte ancienne

Periodicals Room DT 57 .R345x (1925-1929 [complete])

Revue égyptologique

Periodicals Room DT 57 .R34x (1880-1924 [complete])

Studi della Scuola papirologica  3 v., 1973 reprint.

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .S7 (1915-1920 [complete])