Skip to main content

Papyrology: O.AbuMina-O.Muzawwaqa

Resources for research in papyrology in the Lee Library and elsewhere

Ostraca Publications in the BYU Collection (Checklist O.AbuMina-O.Muzawwaqa)

Abbreviations are keyed to the standard Papyrological abbreviations in Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca, and Tablets (with post-2012 updates here) and the Checklist of Arabic Documents.

Click on to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.


O.AbuMina

Greek Ostraca from Abu Mina, ed. N. Litinas. Berlin and New York 2008.

Ancient Studies PA 3371 .A1 2008

O.Ain el-Gedida

Ostraka and graffiti, in Ain el-Gedida : 2006-2008 excavations of a late antique site in Egypt's western desert, p. 507-538, ed. R.S. Bagma;; amd D/ Dzoerzbocla. 2018 (Amheida ; 4)

Ancient Studies DT 137 .W4 A73 2018

O.Amst.

Ostraka in Amsterdam Collections, ed. R.S. Bagnall, P.J. Sijpesteijn and K.A. Worp. Zutphen 1976. (Stud.Amst. IX).

On order for Ancient Studies 21 October 2016

Open access copy at Leiden University

O.Ashm.

"Ostraca in the Ashmolean Museum at Oxford," in O.Bodl. I, pp. 63—81.

Ancient Studies PA 3304 .B67 vol.1

O.Ashm.Copt.

Koptische Ostraka II: Ostraka aus dem Ashmolean Museum in Oxford, ed. A. Biedenkopf-Ziehner. Wiesbaden, 2000.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 2193 .B54 2000 Bd.2

O.Ashm.Shelt.

Greek Ostraca in the Ashmolean Museum from Oxyrhynchus and other sites, ed. J.C. Shelton. Firenze 1988. (Pap.Flor. XVII). 

Ancient Studies Quarto PA 3371 .A1 1988

O.Bankes

  The Bankes Ostraka from a box at Kingston Lacy: the Greek Texts, ed. K.A. Worp. Messina 2016.

Ancient Studies PA 3371 .A1 2016

O.Bawit

Le Monastère et la nécropole de Baouit, ed. from the notes of J. Clédat by D. Bénazeth and M.-H. Rutschowscaya, with contributions from A. Boud’hors, R.-G. Coquin and E. Gaillard. Cairo, 1999.

Ancient Studies Quarto DT 57 .F8 vol.39

O.BawitIFAO

Ostraca grecs et coptes des fouilles de Jean Maspero a Baouit ; O. BawitIFAO I-67 et O. Nancy, ed. A. Boud'hors. Cairo 2004. (Bibliothèque d'Études Coptes 17)

Ancient Studies PA 3371 .A1 2004b

O.Berenike (Documents from Berenike)

O.Berenike I, Greek Ostraka from the 1996—1998 Seasons, ed. R.S. Bagnall, C. Helms and A.M.F.W. Verhoogt. Brussels 2000. (Pap.Brux. XXXI).

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .B78 vol.31

O.Berenike II, Texts from the 1999-2001 Seasons, ed. R. S. Bagnall, C. Helms, and A. M. F. W. Verhoogt. Brussels 2005. (Pap.Brux. XXXIII).

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .B78 vol.33

O.Berenike III, Greek and Latin Texts from the 2009-2013 Seasons, ed. R. Ast and R.S. Bagnall. Brussels 2016. (Pap.Brux. XXXVI). 

Ancient Studies  PA 3339 .B78 vol.36

O.Berl.

Ostraka aus Brussel und Berlin, ed. P. Viereck. Berlin-Leipzig 1922. (Schr.Heid. IV).

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3306 .B75 1922

O.Bodl. (Greek Ostraca in the Bodleian Library at Oxford and Various Other Collections)

O.Bodl. I, ed. J.G. Tait. London 1930 (Egypt Exploration Society, Graeco-Roman Memoirs 21).

Ancient Studies PA 3304 .B67 vol.1

O.Bodl. II, Ostraca of the Roman and Byzantine Periods, ed. J.G. Tait and C. Préaux. London 1955 (Egypt Exploration Society, Graeco-Roman Memoirs 33).

Ancient Studies PA 3304 .B67 vol.2

O.Bodl.III, Indexes, compiled by J. Bingen and M. Wittek. London 1964 (Egypt Exploration Society, Graeco-Roman Memoirs 43)

Ancient Studies PA 3304 .B67 vol.3

O.Brit.Mus.Copt.

O.Brit.Mus.Copt. I = Coptic and Greek Texts of the Christian Period from Ostraka, Stelae, etc. in the British Museum, ed. H.R. Hall. London 1905.

Copy in Hathi Trust

Copy in Google Books

O.Brit.Mus.Copt. II, Koptische Ostraka I: Ostraka aus dem Britischen Museum in London, ed. A. Biedenkopf-Ziehner. Wiesbaden, 2000.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 2193 .B54 2000 Bd.1

O.Brux.

Au Temps ou on lisait le grec en Égypte, ed. J. Bingen. Brussels, 1977.

Ancient Studies PA 3306 .B7 1977

 Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3306 .B75 1922

O.Buch.

The Bucheum vol.2, by R. Mond and O.H. Myers.  London, 1934.

Ancient Studies Quarto DT 57 .D32 no.41 pt.2

O.Cair.

Ostraka greci del Museo Egizio del Cairo, ed. C. Gallazzi, R. Pintaudi and K.A. Worp. Florence 1986. ISBN 8874680139 (Pap.Flor. XIV).

Ancient Studies PA 3371 .A1 1986

Copy in Internet Archive

Open access copy at Leiden University

O.Cair.Monuments

Catalogue général des antiquités égyptiennes du Musée du Caire, nos. 8001 – 8741: Coptic Monuments, by W. E. Crum. Cairo, 1902.

Ancient Studies PJ 2196 .C78x 1975

Copy of 1902 edition in Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Copy of 1975 reprint in Internet Archive

O.Camb.

"Ostraca in the Cambridge University Library," in O.Bodl. I, pp. 153—173.

Ancient Studies PA 3304 .B67 vol.1

O.Chic.Muhs

Tax Receipts, Taxpayers, and Taxes in Early Ptolemaic Thebes , ed. B. P. Muhs. Chicago 2005. (Oriental Institute Publications 126).

Ancient Studies HJ 213 .M84 2005

O.Claud. (Mons Claudianus. Ostraca graeca et latina)

O.Claud. I, ed. J. Bingen, A. Bülow-Jacobsen, W.E.H. Cockle, H. Cuvigny, L. Rubinstein and W. Van Rengen. Cairo 1992. (Institut Français d’Archéologie Orientale, Documents de Fouilles 29)

Ancient Studies Quarto DT 57 .C16 vol.29

 

O.Claud. II, ed. J. Bingen, A. Bülow-Jacobsen, W.E.H. Cockle, H. Cuvigny, F. Kayser and W. Van Rengen. Cairo 1997. (Institut Français d’Archéologie Orientale, Documents de Fouilles 32)

Ancient Studies Quarto DT 57 .C16 vol.32

O.Claud. III, Les reçus pour avances à la ‘familia,’ ed. H. Cuvigny. Cairo 2000. (Institut Français d’Archéologie Orientale, Documents de Fouilles 38)

Ancient Studies Quarto DT 57 .C16 vol.38

O.Claud. IV, ed. A. Bülow-Jacobsen. Cairo 2009. (Institut Français d’Archéologie Orientale, Documents de Fouilles 47)

Ancient Studies Quarto DT 57 .C16 vol.47

O.Cret.Chers.

Greek ostraca from Chersonesos, Crete : Ostraca Cretica Chersonesi (O.Cret.Chers.), ed. N. Litinas. Wien, 2008. (Tyche supplement 6)

Ancient Studies D 51 .T93 Suppl.6

O.Crum

Coptic Ostraca from the Collections of the Egypt Exploration Fund, the Cairo Museum and Others, ed. W.E. Crum. London, 1902.

Copy in Internet Archive.

Copy in Google Books.

O.CrumST

Short Texts from Coptic Ostraca and Papyri, ed. W.E. Crum. Oxford, 1921.

Ancient Studies PJ 2197 .C8 1921

Copy in Internet Archive.

O.Deir el-Bahari

Le Monastère de St. Phoibammon. Deir el-Bahari 5, ed. W. Godlewski. Warsaw, 1986.

Ancient Studies BX 138 .D39 G63 1986

O.Did.

Didymoi. Une garnison romaine dans le désert Oriental d’Égypte, vol. 2: Les Textes, ed. H. Cuvigny, with contributions by F. Briquel-Chatonnet and T. Gagos. Cairo 2012. (Praesidia du désert de Bérénice 4)

Ancient Studies Quarto DT 61 .D53 2011 vol.2

O.Dime (see also P.Dime)

Demotische Dokumente aus Dime I: Ostraka, ed. S. L. Lippert and M. Schentuleit. Wiesbaden 2006.

Ancient Studies PJ 1809 .D456 2006 Bd.1

O.Douch

Les ostraca grecs de Douch. Cairo, 1986-2001. 5 vol.

Ancient Studies Quarto DT 57 .C16 vol.24

O.Edfou (Ostraca published in Fouilles Franco-Polonaises I—III)

Tell Edfou 1937-1939. Cairo, 1937-1950. 3 vol.

Ancient Studies DT 73 .I3 F6 (vol. 1 and 3 only)

Microfiche DT 73 .I3 F6 (vol. 1 and 2 only)

O.EdfouIFAO

Ostraca grecs et coptes des fouilles franco-polonaises sur le site de Tell Edfou. O. EdfouCopte 1-145, ed. S. Bacot. Cairo 2009. (Bibliothèque d'Études Coptes 17)

Ancient Studies PJ 2195 .B5 vol.19

O.Elkab

Elkab III. Les ostraca grecs, ed. J. Bingen and W. Clarysse. Brussels 1989. (Publications du Comité des Fouilles Belges en Égypte, Elkab)

Ancient Studies PA 3371 .A1 1989

O.Erem.

"Griechische Ostraka in der Kaiserlichen Eremitage in St. Petersburg," ed. G. Zereteli in Archiv für Papyrusforschung und verwandte Gebiete 5 (1913) 170—180.

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .A6 Bd.5

O.Florida

The Florida Ostraka: Documents from the Roman Army in Upper Egypt, ed. R.S. Bagnall. Durham, N.C. 1976. (Greek, Roman and Byzantine Monographs 7)

Ancient Studies PA 3371 .A1 1976

Digital copy at Duke University

O.Heid.

Die griechischen Ostraka der Heidelberger Papyrus-Sammlung, ed. C. Armoni, J. M. S. Cowey and D. Hagedorn with notes by W. Habermann. Heidelberg, 2005

Ancient Studies PA 3308 .H4 n.F. Nr.11

O.Hor

The Archive of Hor, ed. J.D. Ray. London, 1976.

Ancient Studies PJ 1829 .R3 1976

Lee Stacks PJ 1829 .R3 1976

O.Joach.

Die Prinz-Joachim-Ostraka, ed. F. Preisigke and W. Spiegelberg. Strassburg 1914. (Schriften der Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft in Strassburg 19).

Ancient Studies PA 3371 .A1 1914a (1972 reprint)

Copy in Hathi Trust

O.Kellis

Greek Ostraka from Kellis, ed. K. A. Worp. Oxford, 2004.

Ancient Studies PA 3371 .A1 2004

O.Kerameikos

Die Ostraka vom Kerameikos, ed. S. Brenne. Wiesbaden 2018. 2 vols.

Ancient Studies Quarto PA 3371 .A1 2019

O.Krok. (Ostraca de Krokodilô)

O.Krok. I, La correspondance militaire et sa circulation, ed. H. Cuvigny. Cairo 2005.

Ancient Studies Quarto PA 3371 .A1 2005

O.Krok. II, La correspondance privée et les réseaux personnels de Philoklès, Apollôs et Ischyras, ed.A.Bülow-Jacobsen, J.-L. Fournet, Bérangère Redon. Cairo 2019.

Ancient Studies PA 3371 .A1 2019

O.Leid.

Greek Ostraka: a Catalogue of the Greek Ostraka in the National Museum of Antiquities at Leiden, with a Chapter on the Greek Ostraka in the Papyrological Institute of the University of Leiden, ed. R.S. Bagnall, P.J. Sijpesteijn and K.A. Worp. Zutphen 1980. (Collections of the National Museum of Antiquities at Leiden IV)

Open access copy (downloadable PDF) at Leiden University

O.Leid.Dem.

The Demotic Ostraca in the National Museum of Antiquities at Leiden, ed. M.A.A. Nur el-Din. Leiden 1974.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1829 .N8 1974

O.Lips.Copt.

Coptica: koptische Ostraka und Papyri, koptische und griechische Grabstelen aus Ägypten und Nubien, spätantike Bauplastik, Textilien und Keramik, ed. S. Hodak, T.S. Richter, F. Steinmann. Berlin 2013. (Katalog Ägyptischer Sammlungen in Leipzig III).

Ancient Studies PJ 2194 .C67 2013

O.Louvre

Ostraca démotiques du Musée du Louvre I, Reçus, ed. D. Devauchelle. Cairo, 1983. (Institut Français d’Archéologie Orientale, Bibliotheque d’Étude 92) 2 vol.

Ancient Studies PJ 25 .B6 vol.92

O.Magnien

Quelques reçus d’impôts agricoles, ed. M. Magnien. Paris 1902.

Copy in Hathi Trust.

New York Public Library copy in Google Books.

University of Michigan copy in Google Books.

O.Mattha

Demotic Ostraka from the collections at Oxford, Paris, Berlin, Vienna and Cairo, ed. G. Mattha. Cairo, 1945.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1675 .M38x 1945

 Ancient Studies Microfiche PJ 1675 .M38x 1945

O.Medin.HabuCopt.

Coptic Ostraca from Medinet Habu, ed. E. Stefanski and M. Lichtheim. Chicago, 1952.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 2193 .S7

O.Medin.HabuDem.

Demotic Ostraca from Medinet Habu, ed. M. Lichtheim. Chicago, 1957.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1829 .L5

O.Medin.Madi

Ostraka e papiri greci da Medinet Madi nelle campagne 1968 e 1969, ed. D. Foraboschi. Milan, 1976.

Ancient Studies Quarto DT 73 .M35 B73 1976

O.Métrologie

Mélanges sur la métrologie, l’économie politique et l’histoire de l’ancienne Égypte, by E. Revillout. Paris 1895.

University of Minnesota copy in Hathi Trust

Cornell copy in Hathi Trust

O.Mich. = Greek Ostraca in the University of Michigan Collection

O.Mich. I, Texts, ed. L. Amundsen. Ann Arbor, 1935.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3371 .A1 1935

O.Mich. II, see P.Mich. VI

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3305 .M5 vol.6

O.Mich. III, see P.Mich. VIII

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3305 .M5 vol.8

O.Mich. IV, ed. H.C. Youtie in Zeitschrift für Papyrologie und Epigraphik 18 (1975) 267—282

Copy in JSTOR (authentication required)

O.Mich.Copt. & O.Mich.Copt.Etmoulon

Coptic Texts in the University of Michigan Collection, ed. W.H. Worrell. Ann Arbor, 1942.

Ancient Studies PJ 2196 .M5 W6 1942

O.Minor

"Ostraca in Various Minor Collections," in O.Bodl. I, pp. 174—81

Ancient Studies PA 3304 .B67 vol.1

O.Mon.Phoib.

Le Monastère de Phoebammon dans la Thébaïde, ed. C. Bachatly. Tome 2: Graffiti, inscriptions et ostraca, ed. R. Rémondon, Yassâ ‘Abd al-Masîh, W.C. Till and O.H.E. KHS-Burmester. Cairo, 1965.

Ancient Studies DT 73 .P56 B3 vol.2

O.Muhs

The Administration of Egyptian Thebes in the Early Ptolemaic Period, by B.P. Muhs. Dissertation Univ. of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia 1996.

Ancient Studies DT 73 .T3 M847 1996

O.Muzawwaqa

"The Demotic Ostraca from Qaret el-Muzawwaqa," ed. M.A. Nur el-Din in Denkmäler der Oase Dachla: aus dem Nachlass von Ahmed Fakhry, by J. Osing, M. Moursi, D. Arnold, O. Neugebauer, R.A. Parker, D. Pingree and M.A. Nur el-Din. Mainz, 1982.

Ancient Studies Quarto DT 73 .D33 D45x 1982