Skip to main content

Papyrology: P.Cair.-P.Customs

Resources for research in papyrology in the Lee Library and elsewhere

Papyrus Publications in the BYU Collection (Checklist P.Cair.-P.Customs)

Abbreviations are keyed to the standard Papyrological abbreviations in Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca, and Tablets (with post-2012 updates here) and the Checklist of Arabic Documents.

Click on to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.


P.Cair. (Service des Antiquités de l'Égypte, Catalogue Général des Antiquités égyptiennes du Musée du Caire. Die demotischen Denkmäler)

P.Cair. I = Service des Antiquités de l'Égypte, Catalogue Général des Antiquités égyptiennes du Musée du Caire. Die demotischen Denkmäler , Die Demotischen Inschriften, ed. W. Spiegelberg. Leipzig 1904.

Copy in Internet Archive

P.Cair. II, Die Demotischen Papyrus. Part 1, Text. Strassburg 1908.

Copy in Internet Archive

P.Cair. III = Service des Antiquités de l'Égypte, Catalogue Général des Antiquités égyptiennes du Musée du Caire. Die demotischen Denkmäler , Demotische Inschriften und Papyri, ed. W. Spiegelberg. Berlin 1932.

Copy in Internet Archive

P.Cair.Cat.

Greek Papyri (Catalogue général des antiquités égyptiennes du Musée du Caire), ed. B.P. Grenfell and A.S. Hunt. Oxford, 1903 (1972 reprint)

Ancient Studies Quarto PA 3303 .G7 1972

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3303 .G7 1972

Copy in Internet Archive.

P.Cair.Goodsp.

Greek Papyri from the Cairo Museum, ed. E.J. Goodspeed. Chicago, 1902.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3303 .G3

Copy in Google Books.

Copy in Internet Archive.

Copy in Hathi Trust.

P.Cair.Isid.

The Archive of Aurelius Isidorus in the Egyptian Museum, Cairo, and the University of Michigan. Ann Arbor. 1960.

Ancient Studies PA 3315 .B6

 Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3315 .B6

P.Cair.Masp.

Papyrus grecs d'époque byzantine, ed. J. Maspero. 3 vol. Cairo, 1911-1916. (Catalogue général des antiquités égyptiennes du Musée du Caire 51, 54, 58)

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3303 .M37 1911

Copy of vol. 1 in Internet Archive.

Copy of vol. 2 in Internet Archive.

Copy of vol. 3 in Internet Archive.

P.Cair.Mich.

P.Cair.Mich.I A Tax List from Karanis (P.Cair.Mich. 359). Part 1, The Text, ed. H. Riad and J.C. Shelton; Part 2, Commentary and Indexes, ed. J. C. Shelton. Bonn 1976—1977

Ancient Studies PA 3301 .P38 Bd.17-18

P.Cair.Mich. II, Texts from the "Archive" of Socrates, the Tax Collector, and Other Contexts at Karanis (P. Cair. Mich. II), ed. M.G. El-Maghrabi and C. Römer. Berlin 2015. (ArchBeih. 35)

Ancient Studies PA 3303 .T48 2015

P.Cair.Preis.

Griechische Urkunden des Aegyptischen Museums zu Kairo, ed. F. Preisigke. Strassburg, 1911. (Schriften der Wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft zu Strassburg 8)

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3303 .G72 1911

Copy in Internet Archive.

P.Cair.Preis.²

P.Cair.Preis.², ed. R.P. Salomons. Brussels 2014 (Pap.Brux. 35)

Ancient Studies PA 3303 .S24 2014

P.Cair.Zen.

Zenon Papyri (Catalogue général des antiquités égyptiennes du Musée du Caire). 5 vol. Cairo, 1925-1940.

Ancient Studies PA 3303 .C13 1971

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3303 .C13

P.Carlsb. (The Carlsberg Papyri)

P.Carlsb. I, Demotic Texts from the Collection. Copenhagen, 1991.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .C37 vol.1

P.Carlsb. II, Hieratische Papyri aus Tebtynis, in 2 volumes, ed. J. Osing. Copenhagen 1998. (Carsten Niebuhr Institute. Publications 17)

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .C37 vol.2 (plates volume in folio)

P.Carlsb. III, A Miscellany of Demotic Texts and Studies. Copenhagen, 2000.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .C37 vol.3

P.Carlsb. IV, The Story of Petese, Son of Petetum and Several Other Good and Bad Stories. Copenhagen 1999.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .C37 vol.4

P.Carlsb. V, On the Primaeval Ocean. Copenhagen 2002.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .C37 vol.5

P.Carlsb. VI, The Petese Stories II, ed. K. Ryholt. Copenhagen 2006.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .C37 vol.6

P.Carlsb. VII, Hieratic Texts from the Collection, ed. K. Ryholt. Copenhagen 2006.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .C37 vol.7

P.Carlsb. VIII, Grundriss des Laufes der Sterne: das sognenannte Nutbuch, ed. A. von Lieven. Copenhagen 2007. 2 v.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .C37 vol.8

P.Carlsb. IX, Aus der Buchhaltung des Winbagazins im Edfu-Tempel. Der demotische P.Carlsberg 409, ed. M. Schentuleit. Copenhagen 2006. 2 v.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1811 .C37 vol.9

P.CattleDocs.

Saite and Persian Demotic Cattle Documents. Chico, 1985.

Ancient Studies KL 3040 .D66 C78 1985

Click here for digital copy

P.Charite

Das Aurelia Charite Archiv, ed. K.A. Worp. Zutphen 1981.

Open access copy at Leiden University

P.Chept.

"Une Famille de chepteliers au IIIe s.p.C.," ed. J. Schwartz. Recherches de Papyrologie 3 (1964) 49—64. Nos. 1—20.

Lee Stacks PA 3339 .R43 vol.3

P.Chic.

Chicago Literary Papyri, ed. E.J. Goodspeed. Chicago, 1908.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3318 .C5

Copy in Internet Archive.

Copy in Google Books.

Copy in Hathi Trust.

P.Chic.Haw.

Oriental Institute Hawara Papyri: Demotic and Greek Texts from an Egyptian Family Archive in the Fayum (Fourth to Third Century B.C.) Chicago, 1997.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1845 .H84 1997

P.Choach.Survey

The Archive of the Theban Choachytes. Leuven, 1993.

Ancient Studies DT 73 .T3 P47 1993

P.Choix 

Choix de textes juridiques en hiératique "anormal" et en démotique. 2 vol. Cairo, 1953-1983

Ancient Studies KRB .L27 C56x 1983 (vol. 2 only)

P.Chrest.Nouvelle

Nouvelle Chrestomathie démotique. Paris, 1878.

Copy in Google Books.

Copy in Internet Archive.

P.Chrest.Revillout

Chrestomathie démotique, ed. E. Revillout. Paris 1880.

Copy at University of Heidelberg

P.Chronik

Die sogenannte demotische Chronik des Pap. 215 der Bibliothèque Nationale zu Paris, ed. W. Spiegelberg. Leipzig, 1914.

Copy in Internet Archive.

P.Clackson

Monastic estates in late antique and early Islamic Egypt: ostraca, papyri, and essays in memory of Sarah Clackson, ed. A. Boud'hors. (Am.Stud.Pap. XLVI) 2008

Ancient Studies PJ 2017 .C58 2008

P.CLT

Ten Coptic Legal Texts, ed. A.A. Schiller. New York 1932.

Ancient Studies KRM 134 .S355 1973

P.Col. (Columbia Papyri)

P.Col. I. Upon Slavery in Ptolemaic Egypt (P.Col.inv. 480), by W.L. Westermann. New York, 1929.

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C6 vol.1

P.Col. II. Tax Lists and Transportation Receipts from Theadelphia, ed. W.L. Westermann and C.W. Keyes. New York, 1932.

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C6 vol.2

Copy in Hathi Trust.

P.Col. III. Zenon Papyri: Business Papers of the Third Century B.C. dealing with Palestine and Egypt I, ed. W.L. Westermann and E.S. Hasenoehrl. New York, 1934.

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C6 vol.3

P.Col. IV. (P.Col.Zen. II) Zenon Papyri: Business Papers of the Third Century B.C. dealing with Palestine and Egypt II, ed. W.L. Westermann, C.W. Keyes, and H. Liebesny. New York 1940.

Copy in Hathi Trust.

P.Col. V. Tax Documents from Theadelphia, ed. J. Day and C.W. Keyes. New York, 1956.

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C6 vol.5

P.Col. VI. Apokrimata: Decisions of Septimius Severus on Legal Matters, ed. W.L. Westermann and A.A. Schiller. New York, 1954.

Hunter Law Library KJA 190 .R45 1954

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C6 vol.6

P.Col. VII. Fourth Century Documents from Karanis, ed. R.S. Bagnall and N. Lewis. Missoula, 1979 (Am.Stud.Pap. XX)

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C6 vol.7

Lee Stacks PA 3305 .C64

Click here for digital copy

P.Col. VIII. Columbia Papyri VIII, ed. R.S. Bagnall, T.T. Renner and K.A. Worp. Atlanta, 1990 (Am.Stud.Pap XXVIII)

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C6 vol.8

Click here for digital copy

P.Col. IX. The Vestis Militaris Codex, ed. J. Sheridan. Atlanta, 1998 (Am.Stud.Pap. XXXIX)

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C6 vol.9

Click here for digital copy

P.Col. X. Columbia Papyri X, ed. R.S. Bagnall and D.D. Obbink. Atlanta, 1996 (Am.Stud.Pap. XXXIV)

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C6 vol.10

Click here for digital copy

P.Col. XI. Columbia Papyri XI, ed. T.M. Teeter. Atlanta, 1998 (Am.Stud.Pap. XXXVIII)

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C6 vol.11

Click here for digital copy

P.Coles

Charisterion per Revel A. Coles (ed. G. Bastianini, N. Gonis and S. Russo). Firenze 2015. (Edizioni dell' Istituto Papyrologico "G. Vitelli" ; 4)

Ancient Studies PA 3315 .E3 C43 2015

P.Coll.Youtie

Collectanea Papyrologica: Texts Published in Honor of H.C. Youtie, ed. by numerous contributors under the direction of A.E. Hanson. Bonn, 1976. 2 vol.

Ancient Studies PA 3301 .P38 Bd.19-20

P.Corn.

Greek Papyri in the Library of Cornell University, ed. W.L. Westermann and C.J. Kraemer, Jr. New York, 1926.

Ancient Studies PA 3305 .C7 1926

Lee Stacks PA 3305 .C7 1972 (reprint)

P.CorpusRevillout

Corpus Papyrorum Aegypti, ed. E. Revillout and A. Eisenlohr. Paris, 1885-1902. t. 1, fasc. 1-4. Papyrus démotiques du Louvre -- t. 2, fasc. 1. Papyrus démotiques du British Museum -- t. 3. Papyrus grecs du Louvre, etc. fasc. 1: Le plaidoyer d'Hypéride contre Athénogène. 

Ancient Studies PJ 1809 C67 1978 (1978 reprint)P.CorpusRevillout I-III

Copy of original in Hathi Trust

P.Count

Counting the People in Hellenistic Egypt, ed. W. Clarysse and D. J. Thompson, I: Population Registers (P.Count). Cambridge, 2006.

Ancient Studies DT 92 .C53 2006 vol.1

P.Customs

Customs Duties in Graeco-Roman Egypt, by P.J. Sijpesteijn. Zutphen 1987. (Stud.Amst. XVII).

On order for Ancient Studies 18 October 2014