Skip to main content

Papyrology: P.Rain.Cent.-P.Stras.Dem.

Resources for research in papyrology in the Lee Library and elsewhere

Papyrus Publications in the BYU Collection (Checklist P.Rain.Cent.-P.Stras.Dem.)

Abbreviations are keyed to the standard Papyrological abbreviations in Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca, and Tablets (with post-2012 updates here) and the Checklist of Arabic Documents.

Click on to access the BYU Catalog description of the book.


P.Rain.Cent.

Festschrift zum 100-jährigen Bestehen der Papyrussammlung der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, Papyrus Erzherzog Rainer. Vienna 1983.

Ancient Studies Quarto PA 3308 .V63 1983

P.Rain.Unterricht

Neue Texte aus dem antiken Unterricht, ed. H. Harrauer and P.J. Sijpesteijn. Vienna, 1985. 2 vol. (MPER XV)

Ancient Studies PA 3308 .V5 n.S. no.15

P.Rain.UnterrichtKopt.

Neue Texte und Dokumentation zum Koptisch-Unterricht, ed. M.R.M. Hasitzka. Vienna 1990. (MPER XVIII)

Ancient Studies PA 3308 .V5 n.S. no.18

P.Recueil

Recueil de textes démotiques et bilingues, ed. P.W. Pestman with J. Quaegebeur and R.L. Vos. Leiden, 1977. 3 vol.

Ancient Studies PJ 1901 .P47

P.Rein. (Papyri Reinach)

P.Rein I, Papyrus grecs et démotiques recueillis en Égypte, ed. T. Reinach, W. Spiegelberg and S. de Ricci. Paris, 1905.

Ancient Studies PA 3306 .R4 1972 (reprint)

Copy in Google Books.

Copy in Hathi Trust.

 P.Rein II, Les Papyrus Théodore Reinach, ed. P. Collart. Cairo, 1940 (in Bulletin de l'Institut Français d'Archéologie Orientale du Caire 39)

Ancient Studies DT 57 .F81 vol.39

 Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3306 .P38 1940

P.Rev.

Revenue Laws of Ptolemy Philadelphus, ed. B.P. Grenfell. Oxford, 1896.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3323 .R4 1896

Copy in Internet Archive.

P.Rev. (2nd ed.)

 Papyrus Revenue Laws, ed. J. Bingen. Göttingen, 1952. (SB Beiheft 1)

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3323 .R4 1952

P.RevilloutCopt.

Papyrus coptes. Actes et contrats des museés de Boulaq et du Louvre, ed. E. Revillout. Paris 1876.

Copy in HathiTrust

P.Ross.Georg. (Papyri russischer und georgischer Sammlungen). Tiflis.

 P.Ross.Georg. I, Literarische Texte, ed. G. Zereteli. 1925.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3313 .T7 1966 vol.1

 P.Ross.Georg. II, Ptolemäische und frührömische Texte, ed. O. Krüger. 1929.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3313 .T7 1966 vol.2

 P.Ross.Georg. III, Spätrömische und byzantinische Texte, ed. G. Zereteli and P. Jernstedt. 1930.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3313 .T7 1966 vol.3

 P.Ross.Georg. IV, Die Kome-Aphrodito Papyri der Sammlung Lichačov, ed. P. Jernstedt. 1927.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3313 .T7 1966 vol.4

 P.Ross.Georg. V, Varia, ed. G. Zereteli and P. Jernstedt. 1935.

Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3313 .T7 1966 vol.5

P.Ryl.

Catalogue of the Greek and Latin Papyri in the John Rylands Library, Manchester. Manchester, 1911-1952. 4 vol.

Ancient Studies PA 3304 .M3 (vol.1-2 only)

Copy of vol.1 in Internet Archive.

Copy of vol.2 in Internet Archive.

Copy of vol.4 in Internet Archive.

P.Ryl.Copt.

Catalogue of the Coptic Manuscripts in the Collection of the John Rylands Library, ed. W.E. Crum. Manchester 1909.

Copy in Internet Archive.

P.Ryl.Dem.

Catalogue of the Demotic Papyri in the John Rylands Library, Manchester, ed. F.Ll. Griffith. Manchester 1909. (3 v.) (1972 reprint)

On order for Ancient Studies 12 October 2017

P.Sakaon

The Archive of Aurelius Sakaon: Papers of an Egyptian Farmer in the last Century of Theadelphia, ed. G.M. Parássoglou. Bonn, 1978.

Ancient Studies PA 3301 .P38 Bd.23

P.Sarga

Wadi Sarga, Coptic and Greek Texts, ed. W.E. Crum and H.I. Bell, with an introduction by R. Campbell Thompson. Copenhagen, 1922.

Ancient Studies PJ 2195 .C66 vol.3

Copy in Internet Archive.

P.Schenkung.

Eine demotische Schenkungsurkunde aus der Zeit des Darius, ed. W. Erichsen. Wiesbaden 1963. (Akad.Wiss.Mainz, Abh. geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Klasse 1962, 6).

Ancient Studies PJ 1849 .S34 E75 1963

P.Scholl

Von Sklaven, Pächtern und Politikern: Beiträge zum Alltag in Ägypten, Griechenland und Rom. Δουλικὰ ἔργα zu Ehren von Reinhold Scholl, ed. L. Popko, N. Quenouille and M. Rücker, with contributions by many others. Berlin and Boston 2012. (ArchivBeih. 33). Nos. 1–15.

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .V66 2012

P.Schow

Charta papyracea graece scripta Musei Borgiani Velitris qua series incolarum Ptolemaidis Arsinoiticae in aggeribus et fossis operantium exhibetur, ed. N. Schow. Rome, 1788.

Copy in Google Books.

P.Schøyen (Papyri Graecae Schøyen)

P.Schøyen I, ed. R. Pintaudi. Florence 2005.

Ancient Studies PA 3309 .O7 P56 2005 vol.1

P.Schøyen II, ed. D. Minutoli and R. Pintaudi. Florence 2010. (Pap.Flor. 40).

Ancient Studies PA 3309 .O7 P56 2005 vol.2

P.Schreibertrad.

Die Ägyptische Schreibertradition in Aufbau, Sprache und Schrift der demotischen Kaufverträge aus ptolemäischer Zeit, ed. K.-Th. Zauzich. Wiesbaden, 1968. 2 vol.

Ancient Studies PJ 1107 .Z3 1968

P.Schub.

Die Griechische literarische Papyri, ed. W. Schubart. Berlin 1950. (Berichte über die Verhandl. der Sächsischen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leipzig, Phil.-Hist. Kl. 97, 5).

Ancient Studies PA 3318 .G75 1973

P.Schutzbriefe

"Koptische Schutzbriefe," ed. W. Till (with an historical-legal study by H. Liebesny). Mitteilungen des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts. Abteilung Kairo 8 (1938) 71—127.

Periodicals Room DT 57 .D48 Bd.8

P.Sel.Warga

Select Papyri, ed. R.G. Warga, Jr. Diss. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1988.

Ancient Studies PA 3341 .W374 1988

P.Select.

Papyri Selectae, ed. E. Boswinkel, P.W. Pestman and P.J. Sijpesteijn. Leiden 1965. (Pap.Lugd.Bat. XIII).

Ancient Studies PA 3301 .P34 vol.13

PSI

Papiri greci e latini. Florence, 1912-present. 16+ vol. (Pubblicazioni della Società Italiana per la ricerca dei papiri greci e latini in Egitto) (Edizioni dell'Istituto papirologico G. Vitelli). Volumes 16- have title Papiri della Società Italiana

 Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3315 .E3 P83 (vol.1-13)

 Ancient Studies PA 3315 .E3 P83 (vol. 14-16)

Copy of vol. 1 in Internet Archive

Copy of vol. 2 in Internet Archive

Copy of vol. 3 in Internet Archive

Copy of vol. 4 in Internet Archive

Copy of vol. 5 in Internet Archive

Copy of vol. 6 in Internet Archive

Copy of vol. 7 in Internet Archive

PSI Online project

PSI Com. = (Dai) Papiri della Società Italiana. (CommunicazioniVitelli)

6, Papiri della Società Italiana alla Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa. Seminario 2003/2004, ed. G. Bastianini, M. S. Funghi and G. Messeri. Firenze 2005. (Comunicazioni of the Istituto Papirologica „G. Vitelli 6 [2005] pages 1–164, tav. I–XIX). Nos. 1–20.

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .C65 vol.6

8, Dai Papiri della Società Italiana, ed. G. Bastianini and others. Firenze 2009. (ComunicazioniVitelli 8 [2009] pages 1–86, tav. I–VIII).

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .C65 vol.8

9, Dai Papiri della Società Italiana, ed. G. Bastianini and others. Firenze 2011. (Comunicazioni of the Istituto Papirologica G. Vitelli 9 [2011], pages 1–55, tav. I–VIII)

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .C65 vol.9

11, Dai Papiri della Società Italiana, ed. G. Bastianini and others. Firenze 2013. (Comunicazioni of the Istituto Papirologica G. Vitelli 11 [2013] pages 1–86, tav. I–XV)

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .C65 vol.11

12, Dai Papiri della Società Italiana, ed. G. Bastianini and S. Russo. Firenze 2015. (ComunicazioniVitelli 12 [2015] pages 1–61, tav. I–XII) (Edizioni dell'Istituto papirologico "G. Vitelli" ; 5)

Ancient Studies PA 3339 .C65 vol.12

PSI Congr.XI

Dai papiri della Società Italiana: Omaggio all'XI Congresso Internazionale di Papirologia. Florence 1965.

Ancient Studies PA 3310 .D34 1965

PSI Congr.XVII

Trenta testi greci da papiri letterari e documentari editi in occasione del XVII Congresso Internazionale di Papirologia. Florence 1983.

Ancient Studies PA 3310 .D34 1983

PSI Congr.XXI

Dai papiri della Società Italiana: Omaggio al XXI Congresso Internazionale di Papirologia. Florence 1995.

Ancient Studies PA 3310 .D34 1995

PSI Il.

Papiri dell' Iliade, ed. M. Manfredi. Florence, 2000.

Ancient Studies PA 4037 .P37 2000

P.Sijp.

Papyri in Memory of P. J. Sijpesteijn, ed. A. J. B. Sirks and K. A. Worp. Oakville, Conn., 2007 (Am.Stud.Pap. XL)

Ancient Studies PA 3341 .P39 2007

Click here for digital copy

P.Siut

A Family Archive from Siut, from Papyri in the British Museum Including an Account of a Trial Before the Laocritae in the Year B.C. 170, ed. H.F.H. Thompson. Oxford, 1934.

Ancient Studies Quarto PJ 1901 .T5

P.SlaveryDem.

Slavery in Pharaonic Egypt, by A. El-M. Bakir. Cairo, 1952, repr. 1978.

Ancient Studies PJ 1775 .B3

Lee Stacks PJ 1775 .B3

P.Sorb. (Papyrus de la Sorbonne)

P.Sorb. I, ed. H. Cadell. Paris 1966. (Publications de la Faculté des Lettres et Sciences Humaines de Paris, Série "Textes et Documents," t. X: Travaux de l'Institut de Papyrologie de Paris IV)

Ancient Studies PA 3306 .S673 vol.1

 P.Sorb. II, Un Codex fiscal Hermopolite (P.Sorb. II 69), ed. J. Gascou. Atlanta, 1994 (AmStudPap XXXII)

Ancient Studies PA 3306 .S673 vol.2

Click here for digital copy

P.Sorb. III, ed. H. Cadell, W. Clarysse and K. Robic. Paris 2011. (Pap.Paris. I)

Ancient Studies PA 3306 .S673 vol.3

P.Sorb. IV, ed. S. Wackenier and M.-P. Chaufray. Paris 2016. (Pap.Paris. IV)

Ancient Studies PA 3306 .S673 vol.4

P.Soter.

Das Archiv des Soterichos, ed. S. Omar. Opladen, 1979

Ancient Studies PJ 1014 .P3 vol.8

P.Stras.

P.Stras. I, Griechische Papyrus der Kaiserlichen Universitäts- und Landes-bibliothek zu Strassburg., ed. F. Preisigke. Leipzig, 1912.

Ancient Studies Quarto PA 3308 .P7 1969 (1969 reprint)

  Ancient Studies Microfiche PA 3308 .P7

P.Stras. II, Griechische Papyrus der Kaiserlichen Universitäts- und Landes-bibliothek zu Strassburg., ed. F. Preisigke. Leipzig, 1920.

Ancient Studies Quarto PA 3308 .P7 1969 (1969 reprint)

P.Stras. IV, Papyrus grecs de la Bibliothèque Nationale et Universitaire de Strasbourg, ed. J. Schwartz. Strasbourg, 1963. (Publications de la Bibliothèque Nationale et Universitaire de Strasbourg I)

Ancient Studies PA 3306 .S8 vol.4

P.Stras. X, Un dossier fiscal hermopolitain d'époque romaine conservé à la Bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg : P. Strasb. inv. gr. 897-898, 903-905, 939-968, 982-1000, 1010-1013, 1918-1929, ed. R.-L. Chang. Paris 2014. (IFAO Bibliothèque générale 46)

Ancient Studies Quarto PA 3306 .S8 vol.10

P.Stras.Copt.

Coptica Argentoratensia. Textes et documents de la troisième Université d’Eté de Papyrologie Copte (Strasbourg, 18 - 25 juillet 2010) ed. A. Boud'hors. Paris 2014. (Cahiers de la Bibliothèque Copte 19)

Ancient Studies PJ 2196 .B535 C67 2014

P.Stras.Dem.

Die demotischen Papyrus der Strassburger Bibliothek, ed. W. Spiegelberg. Strassburg, 1902.

Copy in Internet Archive.